Little Wars is on Feb 7th....
Nothing like a deadline to spur debate!
Madcam.
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Except it requires a rules change as currently it only applies to skirmishers - so is not something that should be sneaked through in a "FAQ"rogerg wrote:There is another option. Some troops halt short of targets they cannot legally charge. All we need is for this to include cannot legally declare a charge on.


I don't see how you can consider a rule that is explicitly about skirmishers that haven't taken a CMT to charge can apply no non-skirmishers in other circumstances - does it apply if the chargers are MF Bow that have passed a CMT to charge.rogerg wrote:It is not strictly a change, more an interpretation. The intention of the rule appears to be that some bases are not legal targets of a charge declaration. Some of us read this as meaning that the chargers are not allowed to contact them in the charge.


Except the rules doesn't uses the pharse 'legal charge contact' it uses the phrase '"legal" charge contact'. Also it only uses it in the impact section. To me this means that there is a grey area of contact that is permitted in an impact move, but is not "legal" - so doesn't count as the target being charged.rogerg wrote:Not 'legal charge contact' suggests to me that they cannot be contacted by troops making a charge move. They may be contactable in other ways during the manouvre phase, but if the move is a charge, they cannot be contacted.
The intention of the rule seems to be quite clear that some bases, in this case the first two engaged ranks, cannot be contacted by charging troops. If we have interpretations added that say 'unless uncovered by evaders' or something similar, I would say that would be a change of the rules. What's more, there will be people working out how to get angled chages in to exploit the situation.
Code: Select all
CvCvLHLHCvCv
CvCvLHLHCvCv
HFHFhfhfHFHF
HFHFhfhfHFHF


madcam2us wrote:So we've come to a definitive???
Great! What was it again?
Madcam.

No - other than as a pursuit.1) Can a BG engage another BG without declaring a charge? Except in the corner to corner and side to side exceptions spelled out in the rules?
No2) Can a BG charge into a BG that would not otherwise be a legal target of a charge?
Totally agree - that's why so many people are averse to a proliferation of FAQs trying to cover unique situations. Treat each case on its merits. Having an encyclopedia of FAQs will just put new players off, IMO.One thing about a rule that seems to describe a rare situation is that once people are aware of it they can manufacture circumstances where it may apply.
Speaking as both a long standing umpire and one of the author team ...Totally agree - that's why so many people are averse to a proliferation of FAQs trying to cover unique situations. Treat each case on its merits. Having an encyclopedia of FAQs will just put new players off, IMO.
Play the game in the spirit of the rules and be guided by those situations that are covered. If you can't agree - then rely on the umpire - but an umpire's decision doesn't have to become legally binding upon the rest of the wargaming community.
Pete

Aye, but then you've got an advantage of knowing with near certainty "authors intent"
Speaking as both a long standing umpire and one of the author team ...
The above is very much my personal philosophy too.
Si