What is the distance that a unit can declare a charge?

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
bilugo
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 2:41 am
Location: sydney, Australia

What is the distance that a unit can declare a charge?

Post by bilugo »

I also thought and have played that a charge cannot be made unless the enemy is within your normal movement range.

But on the weekend we had a discussion about this point on page 58 of the rules which are in brackets.

If the enemy who would be charged are capable of evading - see later - assume a charge move distance of 2 MU more than the shock troops normal move distance. This is the maximum move distance that can be added.

Does this means that shock much declare charges against units which are 2 MU more than they can move because they may get the extra move?

Or could someone just point me to the page where it gives you the distance you can declare a charge from the enemy.

Thank you
fatismo
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 103
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 1:20 am

Post by fatismo »

I don't think that the bit about the extra 2 MU is in relation to charge distane (don't have rules in front of me)

Think of it this way, a unit of HF facing a unit of LF 4 MU's apart, acording to the +2 MU the HF are in charge range so they declare a charge, the LF don't evade and therefore the HF don't get a VMD so only move 3MU and therefore can't contact, if you can't contact you cant charge
SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Post by SirGarnet »

The parenthetical on p58 relates only to the preceding bullets listing situations where a BG does not have to test for charging without orders. It's a parenthetical since it is only clarifying that the "could end" or "could contact" in the exception bullets does include variable moves, a point that might otherwise be missed. It does not change the initial test criterion that the target must be in charge range, which is always the BG's movement distance.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: What is the distance that a unit can declare a charge?

Post by grahambriggs »

bilugo wrote:I also thought and have played that a charge cannot be made unless the enemy is within your normal movement range.

But on the weekend we had a discussion about this point on page 58 of the rules which are in brackets.

If the enemy who would be charged are capable of evading - see later - assume a charge move distance of 2 MU more than the shock troops normal move distance. This is the maximum move distance that can be added.

Does this means that shock much declare charges against units which are 2 MU more than they can move because they may get the extra move?

Or could someone just point me to the page where it gives you the distance you can declare a charge from the enemy.

Thank you
As other have said, the +2MU thing seems to realte to the list of exceptions, not what is charge range.

Don't have the rules on me but I recall that there is a critical definition in the glossary that makes it clear that you use the normal move distance when declaring charges.
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: What is the distance that a unit can declare a charge?

Post by hammy »

grahambriggs wrote:
bilugo wrote:I also thought and have played that a charge cannot be made unless the enemy is within your normal movement range.

But on the weekend we had a discussion about this point on page 58 of the rules which are in brackets.

If the enemy who would be charged are capable of evading - see later - assume a charge move distance of 2 MU more than the shock troops normal move distance. This is the maximum move distance that can be added.

Does this means that shock much declare charges against units which are 2 MU more than they can move because they may get the extra move?

Or could someone just point me to the page where it gives you the distance you can declare a charge from the enemy.

Thank you
As other have said, the +2MU thing seems to realte to the list of exceptions, not what is charge range.

Don't have the rules on me but I recall that there is a critical definition in the glossary that makes it clear that you use the normal move distance when declaring charges.
Absolutely, the +/-2 MU bit is only for situations where a BG of shock troops may be forced to charge but could as a result end up triggering one of the excuses for not being forced to charge if they roll a big enough number. So knights facing light foot infront of a wood are not forced to charge if they could end up actually getting into the wood should they roll a +2 etc.

The real issue is the blank line between the rule this exception applies to and the exception. I am not sure if this appeaared during final production but I am 100% sure that the +/-2 only applies to reasons for shock troops not to be forced to charge.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28284
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

MikeK wrote:The parenthetical on p58 relates only to the preceding bullets listing situations where a BG does not have to test for charging without orders. It's a parenthetical since it is only clarifying that the "could end" or "could contact" in the exception bullets does include variable moves, a point that might otherwise be missed. It does not change the initial test criterion that the target must be in charge range, which is always the BG's movement distance.
The P.58 thing is clarified in the FAQ at http://www.fieldofglory.com/file/FAQ_ver5.01.pdf in section 4 (ii).
Hammy wrote:The real issue is the blank line between the rule this exception applies to and the exception. I am not sure if this appeaared during final production but I am 100% sure that the +/-2 only applies to reasons for shock troops not to be forced to charge.
The problem arose due to the final formatting of the published book. In the final draft we submitted, the bit in brackets was part of the immediately preceding paragraph (the one discussing exceptions), but the layout guys made it look like a separate paragraph. We failed to spot the issue before publication, hence the need for an FAQ clarification.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”