I am doing some solo gaming to get ready for my next game and ran into this rout situation that I was hoping I could get some comments on.
The situation is that the Roman HF is broken and routing directly to its board edge. The Gaul cavalry want to destroy this BG and move on an intercept course. They performa a charge in the impact phase as indicated below but do not get a side charge due to location.

Below is the end of the charge.

In the maneuver phase the cavalry conform to the routers as below.

Since there can be no combat, the HF in the JAP now evade per rules on page
67. They shift 1 base width to their left and roll a VMD since they are in contact and perform their move as shown below


The only option left for the cavalry is to wheel to pursue.

In the above situation the cavalry are actually worse off then when they started. Given the mentioned game mechanics it looks like the cavalry missed the HF and moved past them and now they must turn around to try to contact them again. I don't think this is a good representation of what should happen.
My big question is, is can the HF who are now in contact frontal contact still rout? I would like to think that the rules for evading don't allow a BG to evade if they are in contact to their front such as this example. I think the evade rules are meant to avoid contact.
Can someone shed some light on this type of situation for me?
Thanks
Brian




