Intercepting by interpenetration

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
ethan
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:40 pm

Intercepting by interpenetration

Post by ethan »

Can you intercept through something you can interpenetrate? (say cavalry going through LF). I didn't think you could....
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

No.

You can't voluntarily charge or intercept through anything. See bottom of P47, "no interpenetrations are permitted when charging".
madcam2us
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 1:54 am
Location: Searching for the meaning of "Authors Intent"

Post by madcam2us »

page 63

5th bullet point... no.

Madcam.
There goes another crossing the Rubicon!
W/D/L
2008
CoA - 3/0/0
C.I. - 1/1/1
2009
Ottoman - 6/0/1
Khurasian - 3/5/2
2010
Catalan - 4/0/0
marshalney2000
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 10:14 am

Post by marshalney2000 »

On a slightly different topic can an interception charge assume that the enemy who is charging will reach within 4 inches of them due to on of your own units evading. To clarify, if the enamy units is facing a skirmish capable unit who is intending to evade can a knight unit which is 6 inches away move forward 4 inches in an intercept move knowing that the charging unit will move into this area when pursuing the evading unit.
John
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

marshalney2000 wrote:On a slightly different topic can an interception charge assume that the enemy who is charging will reach within 4 inches of them due to on of your own units evading. To clarify, if the enamy units is facing a skirmish capable unit who is intending to evade can a knight unit which is 6 inches away move forward 4 inches in an intercept move knowing that the charging unit will move into this area when pursuing the evading unit.
John
No, look at the detailed sequence of play on P168, interceptions happen before evades so must be possible without friends getting out of the way first.
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

No and no

If an intercept can't get in the right place to get in the way without anything else moving it can't be done.

Si
Simon Hall
"May your dice roll 6s (unless ye be poor)"
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

I take it that this means if the unit in front, the skirmishers in this example, break as a result of the charge (being fragged at declaration) the knights could then declare an interception if the skirmishers rout passes beyond the path of the interception?
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

philqw78 wrote:I take it that this means if the unit in front, the skirmishers in this example, break as a result of the charge (being fragged at declaration) the knights could then declare an interception if the skirmishers rout passes beyond the path of the interception?
That would look to me to be the case. I now challenge you to engineer a situation where you can use it to your advantage ;)
jre
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 3:17 pm
Location: Zaragoza, Spain

Post by jre »

It depends, as in that case the knights could be a charge target, so they could not intercept. If the enemy could not reach the knights normally, then the knights could intercept. However, as I read the rules, if the charger was an skirmisher and it had not rolled a CMT when declaring the charge, it would stop 1 MU from the knights.

Weird, I know.

José
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

I now challenge you to engineer a situation where you can use it to your advantage
I cannot fail to rise
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”