Moving interpenetrating LF

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
thegatt
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:23 pm

Moving interpenetrating LF

Post by thegatt »

weird thing last night,

A 4 base LF BG in 2x2 was straddling join of 2 friendly BGs, a 2x2 HF and a 2x3 MF.
The LF were also a little bit forward of the friendlies.
LF went to evade bad guys. Rolled 1 on VMD - oops - move is only 3MUs.
Can they still interpenetrate or will they have to burst through!

Now 2x2 HF have a pretty thin depth. LF had enough move to clear them.
2x3 MF are a lot deeper. 3MUs not enough.

Clause 1 says LF interpen freely if distance to clear BG is <MU>MU+2 so clause 1 doesn't apply.
Clause 2 say "all other cases"

Q1. Clause 2 applies to our LF since this is a different case to the qualified clause 1 - true?.

since all our LF ranks could at least reach the MF/HF groups behind, then under clause 2, it will be a legal interpenetration, not a burst through.
Q2. True?

one file of the LF had to move 6+ MUs to pass the MF but under clause 2, thats how it works.
so they moved.
Q3. the other file who only had to move 3ishMUs to clear the HF - how far do they move?
do they stay in 2x2 formation with the other file or just move the minimum to stay in cnr to cnr.

??
Thanks,
Andrew
sagji
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 567
Joined: Sun Nov 06, 2005 12:13 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by sagji »

You can interpenetrate so you don't burst through.
The LF in front of the MF are placed behing the MF. Those in front of the HF are moved normally.

If the MF had been alot deeper - say a column of 12 MF then the LF in front of the HF would be moved to remain in contact with the other LF.

This leaves the LF not in a "legal" formation but that doesn't matter.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”