Impact support fire.

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Ambrosius
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:01 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK.

Impact support fire.

Post by Ambrosius »

Played a game today Classical Indian v Later Persian. A unit of Persian cavalry charged an Indian medium foot bow armed battle group. My opponent claimed extra dice for a second rank of bow, which it appears he is able do so upon consulting the rules. Which begs the question can a BG composed of medium foot in three ranks,armed with bows, count support from both the second and third ranks?
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: Impact support fire.

Post by dave_r »

You can indeed provide supporting fire from the second rank in melee. Pg 104 provides the details

"They must be supporting from a 2nd or 3rd rank, but not both".

Sounds like you've just started playing - there is an active club in Manchester that it might be worth popping over to to have a couple of games to show you the ropes.
Evaluator of Supremacy
Ambrosius
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 5:01 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK.

Re: Impact support fire.

Post by Ambrosius »

Thanks Dave. Yeah, just re read the rules. 2nd or 3rd, but not both. I'm actually a member of the Liverpool War-game's Society. We have been playing a while, but now and again you re- read the rules and come across something you haven't been doing or have missed.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”