rbodleyscott wrote:My knowledge of the Beghemoth rules remains hazy.
What happens if the program decides that I have "lost" the battle near Reading, with both sides on 0% routed?
Since I was intercepting an advance on Reading, one might think that the enemy would have to defeat my army before nightfall or be blocked from reaching Reading. However, because (for some odd reason) I am the challenger, the program will deem me as having lost the battle if both of us are on the same % losses.
As the dour rebels are hugging hedges (for fear of being outflanked by my cavalry), and neither of us is inclined to commit suicide, the battle currently looks as if it will end on 0% routed each.
Since this amounts to an Edgehill type situation, you would think that by successfully not being routed, I should have at least temporarily blocked the Parliamentarian advance on Reading.
Good question. Interceptions are in essence meeting engagements, so unless the 'moving' army (which is, as you observe, slightly counter-intuitively the defender in P&S terms) wins, it is blocked from advancing by the intercepting army and will return to its starting town.
It's the nature of hastily cobbled-together rules to have areas of vagueness that will get clarified as the game progresses. Hopefully these will not impact anyone's enjoyment of the game and can be resolved in a fair and equitable manner!