Light Artillery and Second Moves

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
hoodlum
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:30 pm

Light Artillery and Second Moves

Post by hoodlum »

Dear All

A couple of questions regarding the use of Light artillery.

1. Can Light artillery make a second move when more than 6 inches away from the enemy.

At page 75 The rules read:

'light artillery and battle wagons (or a battle line includingeither of these) must pass a second CMT to make a second move. They can only do so after first passing a cmt for and making a second move'.

To me the rules seem clear - light artillery and battle wagons can make a second move but must pass another cmt.

However, in my local gaming group there seems to be a different interpretation appearing. Some are claiming that because a cmt is required for light artillery and battle wagons to move then every move is a complex move. therefore no second move is permitted as only simple advances for second moves are permitted. Those who hold this opinion also state that they have already raised this issue and had a clarification to that effect.

Again I have trouble with this logic as it ignores the definition of simple and complex moves for light artillery and battle wagons which states that simple and complex moves can be made but require a cmt for either.

I would appreciate it if I could have confirmation as to which interpretation is correct.

At the end of the day though I don't see the ability of light art to make a second move as being a game breaker due to the limited movement anyway.

Question 2. Battle lines and light Artillery

The rules state that battle lines with light artillery in them must make a cmt to move. Fine

But what happens if there are two battle groups of light artillery in the battle line. It would seem from the Rulebook that only one cmt is required for both units to move.

Again probably a rare occurrence and not a game breaker but could be fun to upset an elephant/pike or or knight army.


ANythoughts on the above questions would be appreciated.
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

Light artillery can make a double move and requires a CMT for both moves. If moving as part of a battle line they can still make a double move.

If you look at P41 it says that "light artillery must pass a CMT to carry out any move, whether simple of complex" just because you have to make a CMT does not a complex move make.

As long as the second move is an advance you are fine.
sesma
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:38 am

Post by sesma »

What happens if you fail the first CMT? Are yo allowed to do a second move?

I deployed a battle wagons' BG and failed the first CMT. My opponent said that for a second move to be done there must be a first one.
lawrenceg
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Former British Empire

Post by lawrenceg »

sesma wrote:What happens if you fail the first CMT? Are yo allowed to do a second move?

I deployed a battle wagons' BG and failed the first CMT. My opponent said that for a second move to be done there must be a first one.
'light artillery and battle wagons (or a battle line includingeither of these) must pass a second CMT to make a second move. They can only do so after first passing a cmt for and making a second move'.
Without the rules in front of me I can't be sure if you quoted them correctly, but I am sure that they should say:

"'light artillery and battle wagons (or a battle line includingeither of these) must pass a second CMT to make a second move. They can only do so after first passing a cmt for and making a first move. "

which should answer your question.

(Certainly it was "first" in the beta version and "second" makes no sense as it would mean that you could only make a second move if you have already made a second move.)
Lawrence Greaves
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”