Charging Evading Contacting Non Target

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
meledward23
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:29 pm

Charging Evading Contacting Non Target

Post by meledward23 »

Here is another question that came up.

AAAAA

BBBBB

CCCC

A - LF Bow
B - LF Bow
C - Shock Troops.

(A) charges (B).
(B) Evades (A).
(A) VMD's and HITS (C).

(A) would normally have to CMT to charge (C), but does not have to because C is revealed to (A) by an evading unit. Correct ?

(A) will carry out the charge into (C) despite the folly of such an action, correct?
BrianC
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:57 pm
Location: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

Re: Charging Evading Contacting Non Target

Post by BrianC »

meledward23 wrote:Here is another question that came up.

AAAAA

BBBBB

CCCC

A - LF Bow
B - LF Bow
C - Shock Troops.

(A) charges (B).
(B) Evades (A).
(A) VMD's and HITS (C).

(A) would normally have to CMT to charge (C), but does not have to because C is revealed to (A) by an evading unit. Correct ?

(A) will carry out the charge into (C) despite the folly of such an action, correct?



This kind of situation arose for my last game Wed night. But with horse archers against cavarly. What we did and what I think the rules inidicate is to carry out the charge but stop 1 MU away from a target you could not charge without taking a CMT.

I don't think you can at that explicit point in the turn take a CMT to continue the charge into the heavier troops.

From an earlier discussion on charging, I wonder if you can declare both BGs as charge targets? Then perform the charge, if you fail the cmt then you only charge the LF and stop 1 MU from the heavier troops? Or not charge at all should you fail? Or not even be able to charge the heavier troops because of no clear LOS to the second BG so hence the original situation. Don't have the book with me so can'st say for sure.

Brian
Fugu
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:35 pm
Location: Victoria, BC

Post by Fugu »

The LF can stop 1" away from the Shock Troops, they need not impact on them.
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

From an earlier discussion on charging, I wonder if you can declare both BGs as charge targets? Then perform the charge, if you fail the cmt then you only charge the LF and stop 1 MU from the heavier troops? Or not charge at all should you fail? Or not even be able to charge the heavier troops because of no clear LOS to the second BG so hence the original situation. Don't have the book with me so can'st say for sure.
You can't declare a charge on a BG that you can only hit if enemy evade or break.

The section on charges has a paragraph that reads:
"If a CMT is required to make a charge against certain troops, it must be taken if required for
any of the battle groups that can be “legally” contacted in the chosen direction of charge,
including by stepping forward bases. It need not and cannot be taken for those that can only be
contacted if another battle group evades or routs."

Since you can only take a CMT before you charge, LF/LH can never contact non-skirmishers revealed by an evade, and must stop 1MU short.
BrianC
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 427
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 10:57 pm
Location: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

Post by BrianC »

Thanks for the info Terry, a very clean way of handling such a situation.
meledward23
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:29 pm

Post by meledward23 »

Thanks Terry.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”