Charge from board edge problem

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Charge from board edge problem

Post by titanu »

Image

In the picture above the unit of LH is right on the board edge. It wants to wheel and charge BOTH the camp to its front (the buff rectangle to it's front) and the bowmen with the yellow marker. To do this it must wheel. This would mean that the back edge of the base will go 'off table'. In normal movement it would be allowed a shift. But this is not permitted in a charge. Bases can be dropped back to avoid friends but this is NOT what is happening.
Hence I think that the LH cannot charge the bows at all and can only charge straight forward into the camp.
Do the team agree? :D
kal5056
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 426
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 11:35 pm

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by kal5056 »

The bases are an artificial construct. I would rule the wheel is possible and legal

Gino
SMAC
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by philqw78 »

No. I will expand. When a BG wheels out of the middle of a line it does not shift. To do so other BG would also have to shift when they are not moving. And the reason given above was given previously by Dr BS as to why BG can wheel out of line
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
RobKhan
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by RobKhan »

I think the first answer is good too. If you restrict the LH charge due to the rear corner crossing the edge of the world with a wheel, then BG's in a line with other BG's on corner to corner side edge contact would not be able to wheel in a charge without "interpenetrating" the neighbouring BG with the rear corner of its base/s. Interestingly in DBA3 this "rear base corner" situation is specifically covered. It's good old common sense. But for the "Legalists" it's fodder for fun.

Cheers
Robkhan
"Merry it was to laugh there
Where death becomes absurd and life absurder.
For power was on us as we slashed bones bare.
Not to feel sickness or remorse of murder." Wilfred Owen 1893-1918.
titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by titanu »

philqw78 wrote:No. I will expand. When a BG wheels out of the middle of a line it does not shift...
It is a good point Phil BUT the wheeling from a battle line is NOT specifically covered in the rules. P47 Shifting, right hand column; 'By non-routing troops if this is necessary to avoid crossing the table edge'.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by petedalby »

Leaving aside the thorny question of wheeling through friendly troops and the impact of the table edge.....

Any reason why the LH can't declare a charge vs both the yellow marker unit and the Camp and drop into a single column to achieve this?
Pete
AlanCutner
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by AlanCutner »

Sorry Pete, you only drop a file in a charge to avoid friends. However I agree with previous answers that edge of the table doesn't prevent the charge anyway.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by petedalby »

Sorry Pete, you only drop a file in a charge to avoid friends.
No apology necessary Alan.

It actually says on page 58 - 'if necessary to pass friendly troops' - no mention of avoid.

If there was an impassable bit of terrain 35mm from the base edge - presumably you would agree that a base could not charge something through the gap? Or perhaps not?

So in the OP, the situation is not dissimilar - the gap between the table edge and the friendly BG appears to be less than 2 base widths if you wheel.

But if you drop a file, you can pass the friendly BG in a charge preceded by a wheel.

Either way we agree on the outcome - the LH can charge both camp and enemy BG and it will only get one base at impact vs the enemy BG.
Pete
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by hazelbark »

So everyone agrees. The charge is permitted.
RobKhan
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 6:52 pm
Location: Hamburg

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by RobKhan »

In the photo, is the light foot friendly or hostile to BG with the yellow marker??

If friendly, then maybe the rule stopping you from minimizing the number of dice in combat would mean the LH have to do their charge with a more extreme wheel and contact the LF as well. You only get one dice for fighting the camp, but 2 for the contact with the LF and one for the Yellow marker foot. Of course, if the LH base has the distance with step forward to the LF and based on the measuring stick it is likely.

Cheers
Robkhan
"Merry it was to laugh there
Where death becomes absurd and life absurder.
For power was on us as we slashed bones bare.
Not to feel sickness or remorse of murder." Wilfred Owen 1893-1918.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by petedalby »

So everyone agrees. The charge is permitted.
Hopefully so Dan.

I'd like to think most players would accept Gino's view. Similarly Phil's point about wheeling into / through adjacent friends is spot on and should apply to the table edge too.

My suggestion on dropping back bases is there in an attempt to show the camp and BG should both be doomed no matter how much you wriggle.
Pete
titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by titanu »

petedalby wrote:
Sorry Pete, you only drop a file in a charge to avoid friends.
No apology necessary Alan.
It actually says on page 58 - 'if necessary to pass friendly troops' - no mention of avoid.
The extension of what you are saying is, IF the LF are where they are the charge is possible but if they were NOT there then the charge is not possible :shock:

If I summed the position up as "We all think that the charge SHOULD be allowed but the rules do/may not allow it".
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by hazelbark »

titanu wrote: If I summed the position up as "We all think that the charge SHOULD be allowed but the rules do/may not allow it".
Nope. That is not the case and if you search the authors have commented frequently on the base overlapping issue before.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by petedalby »

The extension of what you are saying is, IF the LF are where they are the charge is possible but if they were NOT there then the charge is not possible :shock:
Nah - cos then the LH wouldn't have been squeezed up against the board edge :D

Did the owner of the LH need 3 more attrition points to break the opponent's army by any chance?
Pete
berthier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier
Posts: 782
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by berthier »

I agree with Gino. This would not be an issue in the GCC.
Christopher Anders
http://bloodsandsteel.blogspot.com
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by dave_r »

berthier wrote:I agree with Gino. This would not be an issue in the GCC.
Which is almost certainly what would happen in the UK if an umpire was called. This thread is to educate and discuss how the rules are written and possible clarifications that may be needed.

I'm known for being fairly robust in my arguments on these threads - but that is for the exact reason of not having to have a huge argument in the middle of a game. As long as we all know of these things and plan ahead for them everything is fine.

It's surprises that annoy people.
Evaluator of Supremacy
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by grahambriggs »

To my mind, this is a situation where you need to use common sense - of course they can wheel - and if both players are happy to do so fine. That's certainly the way I play it. Also, as others have quoted, the authors have made their views known on similar cases that they should be allowed. But the rules don't actually say that.

My reading of the rules is that the impact phase options for the LH are these:

- don't declare a charge.
- charge straight forwards into the camp.
- declare a charge including a wheel. However, page 54 then applies: "a charging...BG whose move would take any part of it off the table edge instead halts its move at the table edge". So it would halt as soon as it starts to wheel.

So a new player at a competition who points out the rule and says you can't charge both would feel cheated if an umpire gave the response "I know that's what you said but that's not how we play it here" particularly if the BG being charged is the one AP needed for the game.

It's a slightly different situation compared to wheeling out of the line. In that case, the rules simply say nothing about what happens. In this it's relatively clearly laid out: the chargers halt.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by grahambriggs »

petedalby wrote:
Sorry Pete, you only drop a file in a charge to avoid friends.
No apology necessary Alan.

It actually says on page 58 - 'if necessary to pass friendly troops' - no mention of avoid.

If there was an impassable bit of terrain 35mm from the base edge - presumably you would agree that a base could not charge something through the gap? Or perhaps not?

So in the OP, the situation is not dissimilar - the gap between the table edge and the friendly BG appears to be less than 2 base widths if you wheel.

But if you drop a file, you can pass the friendly BG in a charge preceded by a wheel.

Either way we agree on the outcome - the LH can charge both camp and enemy BG and it will only get one base at impact vs the enemy BG.

But it's not necessary to drop back bases to pass the friends. If you charge straight forwards, you can pass the friends and hit the camp without dropping back bases.
AlanCutner
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Scotland

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by AlanCutner »

But it's not necessary to drop back bases to pass the friends. If you charge straight forwards, you can pass the friends and hit the camp without dropping back bases.
Interesting interpretation. Are you saying that a charging bg that can charge straight forward could not wheel at start of charge if it meant dropping a file to pass friends? I have always played it that a bg can always wheel at start of charge, but if friends are then in the way it is necessary to drop a file to pass them. Ofcourse there are other rules that also have to be satisfied, such as number of dice at impact.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3071
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: Charge from board edge problem

Post by grahambriggs »

AlanCutner wrote:
But it's not necessary to drop back bases to pass the friends. If you charge straight forwards, you can pass the friends and hit the camp without dropping back bases.
Interesting interpretation. Are you saying that a charging bg that can charge straight forward could not wheel at start of charge if it meant dropping a file to pass friends? I have always played it that a bg can always wheel at start of charge, but if friends are then in the way it is necessary to drop a file to pass them. Ofcourse there are other rules that also have to be satisfied, such as number of dice at impact.
No, I'm saying that in the situation given in this example you don't need to drop bases back to pass the friends.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”