When a BG makes an initial pursuit, this is similar to a charge. Can an enemy BG from his rear make an interception charge? Or only by pursuit can they avoid to close combat wiht them?
I have another question:
If after impact phase a BG of impact foot has contacted a group of pikes from his flank (not a legal flank charge), contacting first and second bases from the extreme file. Conformation means, that one impact foot base align with fornt rank pike, and second with second rank file as an side edge to side edge overlap? I am not sure if conformation must be done, base to base in contact and then resting bases, not in contact, or conformtation is made in order to make the minimal pivot and/or slide to align both groups.
Thanks in advance,
Carlos.
Question about pursuit
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
If I understand this correctly, one base has contacted the corner of the pike, the adjacent base has stepped forward into the edge of the second rank pike base. I presume the conforming will put the base contacting the front pike base into full front edge contact, the base contacting the second rank of pike becomes the overlap.
Do the other bases maintain their relative positions to the first conforming base? This means the the overlapping base continues to be stepped forward. The alternative is that the stepped forward bases reform to regain a level frontage.
Please excuse the question if their is a diagram in the rules. I will read them again tonight.
Do the other bases maintain their relative positions to the first conforming base? This means the the overlapping base continues to be stepped forward. The alternative is that the stepped forward bases reform to regain a level frontage.
Please excuse the question if their is a diagram in the rules. I will read them again tonight.
-
nikgaukroger
- Field of Glory Moderator

- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
Re: Question about pursuit
Interception charges can only be made in the Impact phase when an enemy declares a charge - so no.ecnomus wrote:
When a BG makes an initial pursuit, this is similar to a charge. Can an enemy BG from his rear make an interception charge?
Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
Aboout conformation
rogerg wrote:If I understand this correctly, one base has contacted the corner of the pike, the adjacent base has stepped forward into the edge of the second rank pike base. I presume the conforming will put the base contacting the front pike base into full front edge contact, the base contacting the second rank of pike becomes the overlap.
Do the other bases maintain their relative positions to the first conforming base? This means the the overlapping base continues to be stepped forward. The alternative is that the stepped forward bases reform to regain a level frontage.
Please excuse the question if their is a diagram in the rules. I will read them again tonight.
My question about conformation really is about:
1.- Must i conform a battle group base by base, with enemy bases, base by base, they are already in contact? In this first case, all bases in contact at impact phase remain in contatc at melee phase.
2.- Or must i conform the whole group in order to minimize pivots and slides to align both contacted groups? In this situation, is possible that some bases lose contact to original charged enemy bases to align with a more closer enemy base from the same group.
What is correct?
-
peterrjohnston
- Field of Glory Moderator

- Posts: 1506
- Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:51 am
From your description, the whole BG pivots (back, in effect) to "conform with the front edge of the enemy battle group" as it doesn't count as a flank charge (p71).
If the base that hit the front corner can line up with the front base of the pike BG, it will slide by the minimum necessary to do so. Your other element will be an overlap. Even if you can't conform for some reason, you still pivot to line up with the front edge of the enemy BG.
Rgds,
Peter
If the base that hit the front corner can line up with the front base of the pike BG, it will slide by the minimum necessary to do so. Your other element will be an overlap. Even if you can't conform for some reason, you still pivot to line up with the front edge of the enemy BG.
Rgds,
Peter

