Support shooting in impact phase

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Maerk
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:17 am

Support shooting in impact phase

Post by Maerk »

Table "Impact Phase Dice" (p.92) says:

"Foot with bow, ... supporting medium or heavy foot of the same stationary battle group from a ... 3rd rank." I'm not sure about the meaning of the bold terms:

Does it mean that only BGs with 100% shooting capability or mixed BGs with a fraction of shooters (where allowed in the army lists of course) can shoot to support an impact close combat?

Or is it possible for a shooting BG to support another MF or HF BG in an impact close combat?
Maerk
WhiteKnight
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: yeovil somerset

Post by WhiteKnight »

In the impact phase, only the 2nd ( or 3rd in relevant cases) of shooters that are part of a contacted MF or HF BG can shoot at their attackers...see pp98 and 99.

So if nearby shooters from other BGs have not disrupted etc an attacking BG before the charge is declared, the BG charged are on their own, at least at the first impact!

Martin
Montagu
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 2:51 pm

Post by Montagu »

From what I understand...

There are some types of BGs that have both melee and ranged attackers. I believe this type of BG is what the rule is referring too. Stationary meaning that BG hasn't moved. If they move then no shooting.

Monty
Maerk
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:17 am

Post by Maerk »

Monty -

that's exactly what I tried to ask about: Do the shooters have to be part of the charged BG or is it possible for a separate BG of shooters to support a BG being charged?
Maerk
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Must be part of the charged BG.
Maerk
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:17 am

Post by Maerk »

Thanks!
Maerk
NealSmith
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 6:23 pm

Post by NealSmith »

Yep charged BG.

An example of this will be Crusader spear/crossbow units. They have spearmen (defensive probably?) to receive the charge, but the crossbow should get to support shoot.

I have not seen a copy of the book, but that's how they normally work... :)
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”