Flank

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
hcaille
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Lyon - France
Contact:

Flank

Post by hcaille »

Hi

During a nice game (i win it :D ) we have a question about how to handle this situation :

Image

It is the turn for the player of LH B. What kind of move can he perform with the LH ?
How can he turn to face the menace ?

In the restricted area you can only make a wheel but in this case if you perform the wheel, after the movement the battle group is not in front of the ennemy.

Image

In the Restricted area you cannot make a 90° turn so we think that this move is not possible but it appear as "the more logical" in this situation.

Image

Any thought ?

Thanks
Hervé
Last edited by hcaille on Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pbrandon
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 1:08 pm

Post by pbrandon »

I think you mean 90 degrees not 45 degrees.

Why can't it do as in your bottom image? One option in the RA is to "Remain in place. (It can expand or turn, but not contract)." That seems to be the case here.

Paul
rogerg
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by rogerg »

A 90 degree wheel is not possible, but a 90 degree turn is OK. THe BG's front left corner becomes its front right and it will be three bases wide and two deep. (The column is 90mm deep so needs three bases, 120mm, to keep the width at least as great as the former depth.)
WhiteKnight
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: yeovil somerset

Post by WhiteKnight »

HI Herve

You can turn 90 to face the threat but your new top left base position will exactly opposite the enemy's bottom right base position.

I like your diagram very much! It would be good if more people posting used this type of diagram, but for myself, I would not know what to use to produce it!!
Martin
hcaille
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 11:32 am
Location: Lyon - France
Contact:

Post by hcaille »

Hi

To resume, the last diagram is good :)

Thanks

Hervé
Ironhand
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:34 am

Post by Ironhand »

Not quite. Your left hand base is a little too far over. The top left corner of the unit must remain stationary. As White Knight noted, after the unit turns, your top left base shoud be lined up exactly opposite the opponent's bottom right base.
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

The 2nd diagram looks good to me.
The original front left corner becomes the turn BGs front right corner. Any other bases end lined up 3 wide from this point.
pbrandon
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 204
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 1:08 pm

Post by pbrandon »

Terry

From your written description, I think you mean the 3rd diagram (or the second option), i.e. the one at the bottom?

Paul
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

Terry

From your written description, I think you mean the 3rd diagram (or the second option), i.e. the one at the bottom?
True - I lose count after 2 !!!!!
WhiteKnight
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 354
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: yeovil somerset

Post by WhiteKnight »

If the BG turn as in diag 3 from Herve, have they not turned 270 degrees....ie turned 180 then 90?

Am just imagining how the bodies of horse would actually try to turn, from heading l to r they'd try to go forwards to turn the 90 but in Herve's diag 3, a lot of horses would have to go in reverse gear.

Which is why i saw them as lining up as I described. Was I wrong, and why, if so?

Martin
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”