Combat over artillary

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
geoffrm
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 12:50 pm

Combat over artillary

Post by geoffrm »

Hi,
We had a situation were I charged two art BG's situated side by side. One BG had rear support but the other one did not. I contacted the one without rear support with one file and the other, with its support with three files. The one without support was captured but the support for the other BG held on and we fought several bounds. The question is does the file facing the captured BG fight as an overlap or does it man the art? As well, the overlapping file was charged by an El BG. Now an El BG cannot interpenetrate Art so how does it contact the overlapping BG if the art is between them?

Geoff
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Combat over artillary

Post by ravenflight »

geoffrm wrote:Hi,
We had a situation were I charged two art BG's situated side by side. One BG had rear support but the other one did not. I contacted the one without rear support with one file and the other, with its support with three files. The one without support was captured but the support for the other BG held on and we fought several bounds. The question is does the file facing the captured BG fight as an overlap or does it man the art? As well, the overlapping file was charged by an El BG. Now an El BG cannot interpenetrate Art so how does it contact the overlapping BG if the art is between them?

Geoff
I'm not certain, but I'd say you do fight as an overlap. The front of the guns is the assumed position of the fighters and I presume your front corners were in corner to corner. You can ignore 'your' guns, as you are not manning them. Once you turn 'your' guns 180, you'd instantly be manning the guns (in a very odd formation) and would have to determine if you were in overlap at that time, but I think you probably would still be in overlap.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”