First game questions

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
hangarflying
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:31 am

First game questions

Post by hangarflying »

A friend and I just played our first game tonight and we had a few questions. We have the 2.0 rules.

1) Does a charging unit always roll on the VMD table prior to a charge, or does this only apply when a target declares that it is going to evade?

2) Light foot is the target of a charge, rolls poorly on the VMD to evade, movement allowance puts it in the middle of a heavy foot unit. Even though there isn't enough movement, does the LF interpenetrate and then placed immediately on the back side of the HF, or must it stop short? (We placed it immediately behind).

3) HF in #2 is contacted by the charger. It ultimately breaks and routes in the subsequent melee phase, rolls poorly on the VMD. Much like in #2, the resulting movement means it will be mixed with the LF from #2: do we treat it the same way we did the evading unit in #2?

4) Because the LF from #2 is going to be charged again during the pursuit, does it make another evade or does it take the charge in the rear?

5) Had a LF placed in such a way that when enemy cav charged friendly cav, it moved into and through the firing arc of the LF, but was outside of the arc at the end of movement. Is it possible for this LF to fire upon the cav as it goes by, or must it only fire during the shooting phase?

That's all I can think of at the moment. Thanks for any help!
philqw78 wrote:I think perchance...he is one of those dastardly foreign interlopers, possibly a colonial type?
paullongmore
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: First game questions

Post by paullongmore »

I will do my best, not got my book to hand

1) Does a charging unit always roll on the VMD table prior to a charge, or does this only apply when a target declares that it is going to evade?
Only roll a VMD if all targets have evaded

2) Light foot is the target of a charge, rolls poorly on the VMD to evade, movement allowance puts it in the middle of a heavy foot unit. Even though there isn't enough movement, does the LF interpenetrate and then placed immediately on the back side of the HF, or must it stop short? (We placed it immediately behind).
In V2 if you reach the unit when evading you pass through.

3) HF in #2 is contacted by the charger. It ultimately breaks and routes in the subsequent melee phase, rolls poorly on the VMD. Much like in #2, the resulting movement means it will be mixed with the LF from #2: do we treat it the same way we did the evading unit in #2?
HF burst through the LF knocking them down a cohesion level and are placed beyond the LF

4) Because the LF from #2 is going to be charged again during the pursuit, does it make another evade or does it take the charge in the rear?
The LF get to evade again. If they were fragmented they would have to test for being charged while fragmented. There is then a good chance the HF will burst through them again in the JAP.

5) Had a LF placed in such a way that when enemy cav charged friendly cav, it moved into and through the firing arc of the LF, but was outside of the arc at the end of movement. Is it possible for this LF to fire upon the cav as it goes by, or must it only fire during the shooting phase?
Shooting is only during the shooting phase, although some account is taken of shooting in the impact phase if you are the target of the charge.

Hope this helps. :P
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Re: First game questions

Post by bbotus »

Agree with paullongmore. Do remember that evading and routing units can shift 1 base width during the initial evade/rout (page 72) and 2 base widths in the JAP (page 116) if it will allow them to avoid others.
hangarflying
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 3:31 am

Re: First game questions

Post by hangarflying »

Thanks for the help.

Regarding the last question, assuming the LF could do so, if the LF wheels towards the enemy cav, can they fire at them in the shooting phase even though they are locked into melee? The cav was in a 2x2 formation.
philqw78 wrote:I think perchance...he is one of those dastardly foreign interlopers, possibly a colonial type?
paullongmore
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:12 pm

Re: First game questions

Post by paullongmore »

No. You cannot shoot at bases who are providing dice in a melee. So you cannot shoot at cav in a 2 by 2.

I believe you can shoot at the 3rd or 4th rank of a pike block who are providing POAs but not dice.
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Re: First game questions

Post by bbotus »

I believe you can shoot at the 3rd or 4th rank of a pike block who are providing POAs but not dice.
Correct (page 90). Also If the cav were 4x1 (in a line) and the base on one end was not eligible to fight as an overlap, then you could shoot at that base. There is a -1 POA for firing at a BG which is partly in close combat.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”