Assaulting artillery outside their arc

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Blathergut, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
MCorbett
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:57 pm

Assaulting artillery outside their arc

Post by MCorbett »

In a game yesterday we had a situation where infantry were within 1 MU of an artillery unit but were outside their forward firing arc. If the infantry were to assault the artillery would the artillery be able to fire defensively?

I've attached an actual photo.
IMAG0931.jpg
IMAG0931.jpg (87.41 KiB) Viewed 1462 times
The French Infantry above the two purple counters is the unit that may choose to assault - the artillery is just ahead and to the left.

Another French unit in front of the artillery (to the left of purple counters) is within medium range.
pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Assaulting artillery outside their arc

Post by pugsville »

I'd say yes. Unless Artillery are actually assaulted in the flank.

For to hit in assaults Infantry must start a base width outside the firing arc, so I'd say they would be hit on 4's as well.

(just opinion)
KendallB
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 416
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: North Shore, New Zealand

Re: Assaulting artillery outside their arc

Post by KendallB »

The infantry will wheel so that their centre lines up with the artillery unit then moves forward, stopping at 2MU for the defensive fire. The artillery fire six dice needing 4+ to hit as the infantry started within a base width from the artillery.

To count as a flank charge, the infantry need to have started with their front edge behind the artillery's front edge (pg 33). Unless assaulting a flank or rear a unit always counts as assaulting the front and will receive defensive fire. The score needed to hit is either a 4+ or 5+ depending on where the assaulters started in relation to the target.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Assaulting artillery outside their arc

Post by hazelbark »

1) Not a flank charge. It doesn't meet that definiation.
2) As Kendall posted, the infantry need to wheel to contact and that will bring them into arc.
MCorbett
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:57 pm

Re: Assaulting artillery outside their arc

Post by MCorbett »

That's great.

Thanks all for clearing it up.

Mark
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”