Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
CYRANOINLONDON
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:18 pm

Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Post by CYRANOINLONDON »

So I understand that if you have 6 pike bases and 2 bases with HW capability they can be a keil if you set them up 2 wide, 4 deep, with the pike as the 6 front bases; at least that's how I read page 29.

But do the HW bases count as pike bases whilst they remain behind the pike bases - eg in determining whether you get the + in Impact for being 'Pike in 4 more ranks' ?

If you take a keil that consists of 12 pike, 2 HW bases and 2 shot bases can you deploy the HW as a wing on one side and the shot on the other? I think you can based on the exception on page 33 (3rd bullet point down in the left hand column)

Sorry if these are really dumb questions but I'm just getting my head around some of the earlier armies.

Thanks
C
daveallen
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 542
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:21 am

Re: Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Post by daveallen »

CYRANOINLONDON wrote:So I understand that if you have 6 pike bases and 2 bases with HW capability they can be a keil if you set them up 2 wide, 4 deep, with the pike as the 6 front bases; at least that's how I read page 29.
The HW don't need to be at the back, they can both be in the centre of one of the files if you choose.
But do the HW bases count as pike bases whilst they remain behind the pike bases - eg in determining whether you get the + in Impact for being 'Pike in 4 more ranks' ?
Both HW and Swd can count as ranks of Pike for POA purposes, providing there are at least two bases of Pike in the file and there is a Pike base at the front.
If you take a keil that consists of 12 pike, 2 HW bases and 2 shot bases can you deploy the HW as a wing on one side and the shot on the other? I think you can based on the exception on page 33 (3rd bullet point down in the left hand column)
Yes you can. If however there were more than two shot bases they would have to be deployed either side of the main body.

Dave
CYRANOINLONDON
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:18 pm

Re: Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Post by CYRANOINLONDON »

Thanks Dave.

Mostly as I thought but I couldn't quite track down the bit about the HW (Swd) guys counting as Pk for the POA purposes. Do you know the reference off-hand?

Regards
C
timmy1
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England

Re: Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Post by timmy1 »

I think it is Page 34 other mixed formations
CYRANOINLONDON
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:18 pm

Re: Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Post by CYRANOINLONDON »

I just looked that up again.

If that's all there is I'm a bit concerned because the section on Page 34 is dealing with how you treat bases that are not pike or shot for unit formation. It doesn't say you can treat bases with HW (or Swd) capability as Pike for POA purposes in Impact and Melee. The nearest it comes is the sentence 'Treat the close combat capability bases as if pike bases and the other bases as if shot bases'.But when you read that in the context of the previous sentence (which is about the constraints on unit formation) it doesn't look as if it is supposed to be about 'counting as' Pike or Shot for POA purposes. Moreover, if you took that interpretation of the sentence it might mean for example that bases with Bow capability negated armour in melee.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks
C
CYRANOINLONDON
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 3:18 pm

Re: Heavy Weapons and Keils and Shot

Post by CYRANOINLONDON »

OK.

I,ve found it. Page 124 - Exception

Thasnks
C
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”