Rules ruling from Usk

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Rules ruling from Usk

Post by titanu »

Image

This was from the last game with Phil Powell. This is the position at the melee stage. Note: The elephant battle group is in contact with the side edge of the cats with dark bases and front edge contact with the sandy coloured bases. The discussion was - can the base, of the sand coloured cats, not in contact with the elephants fight? It appears to be an internal overlap.

But RBS ruled that if all figures had conformed then that base would have fought. So the ele base in contact with the dark base cats fought them and all 4 sandy cat bases fougtt the elephant BG.
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by ShrubMiK »

Interesting.

I would agree that (for consistency), if the second elephant base gets to fight as an overlap, the second sandy cat file should do likewise. You shouldn't be able to get an advantage by angling your charge in such a way as to artificially get more bases fighting than the opponent.

Who fights who is the remaining question. And does leave open the possibility of gaining a small advantage by not being able to conform. If the principle is to fight as if conforming had taken place, there would be a case for saying that logically the second ele should in fact be fighting the sandy cats? Which would then beg the question: would it not be simpler in such cases to actually do the conform? Not sure what would have to happen to the rules to make that happen without opening up other loopholes though - assuming the authors would even agree with me on that point :)
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by philqw78 »

Phil Powell was robbed
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by zoltan »

titanu wrote:Image

This was from the last game with Phil Powell. This is the position at the melee stage. Note: The elephant battle group is in contact with the side edge of the cats with dark bases and front edge contact with the sandy coloured bases. The discussion was - can the base, of the sand coloured cats, not in contact with the elephants fight? It appears to be an internal overlap.

But RBS ruled that if all figures had conformed then that base would have fought. So the ele base in contact with the dark base cats fought them and all 4 sandy cat bases fougtt the elephant BG.
As a matter of interest how many elephant bases and how many of their cavalry friends bases fought at impact as there appears to be 6 el/cav bases versus 5 cat bases in contact at impact?
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by petedalby »

It's clearly an unusual situation. Without seeing the whole picture and working it through step by step I'd say it's down to the umpire's call every time.

There's every possibility that RBS could give the opposite ruling next time around?
Pete
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by philqw78 »

He gave the opposite ruling same time around. He said the rules are internal overlaps can't fight but then said to be fair they should.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by philqw78 »

As for bases fighting, the Palmyran base contacted by nelly and cat fought just the nelly. Since those with more bases in contact chose who fights the nelly was chosen
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by gozerius »

Why didn't the cats all conform on the left? Not that it addresses the nellie question. It could be that the Nellies would have conformed to the lefthand base of the center Cat BG. Hard to tell from this angle.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by philqw78 »

The cataphracts did all conform, very neatly. The elephant couldn't as it would have lost contact with the BG it charged
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by petedalby »

Was the elephants vs Cats a flank charge?

If yes - why didn't the cats turn?

If no - then surely the elephants only fight as an overlap vs those cats in the subsequent melee? I see that they can't conform - and because of this you then effectively have an overlap of elephants facing an overlap of cats? If this is the case I would've had all of the elephants fighting all of the sandy coloured base cats.
Pete
titanu
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1089
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 7:26 am

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by titanu »

petedalby wrote:Was the elephants vs Cats a flank charge?

If yes - why didn't the cats turn?

If no - then surely the elephants only fight as an overlap vs those cats in the subsequent melee? I see that they can't conform - and because of this you then effectively have an overlap of elephants facing an overlap of cats? If this is the case I would've had all of the elephants fighting all of the sandy coloured base cats.
It was not a flank charge and they did fight the dark cats as an overlap. The RBS ruling was a 'compromise' but not a bad one.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3069
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by grahambriggs »

Is there meant to be a gap between the two BGs that the elephants are touching or are they meant to be in edge to edge contact? If the latter, the elephants could conform to line up with the sandy base cats as they've conforming to an overlap position to the dark base they hit.

If the charging elephants and cats were all part of one big 10 base BG of mixed cats and elephants (OK they charged at slightly different angles but bear with me), I think it would be clearer that the two elephants fight the two sandy bases. So I suspect the ruling is good.

There is some vagueness in the conforming rule. You could even interpret it it that the elephants conform to the sandy based catapracts even if there's a gap with the following logic (not that i agree, but it could be argued). You conform to the enemey bases in contact by the minimum move. So there are 5 enemy bases in contact, 4 dark bases and one sandy one. Move the cats to face the dark bases. That's 4 accounted for. Move the elephant base touching MR sand to line up with that, and drag the other elephant across to line up with the other base. Your troops have conformed to the 5 enemy bases in contact.

The problem is that the rules are vague on where the thing that lines up is the troops in general or each base against the one it is touching.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by philqw78 »

There was a gap
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
stenic
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Cheltenham, Glos, UK

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by stenic »

Out of curiosity what is an internal overlap and where in the rules does it say they do not fight?
philqw78 wrote:He gave the opposite ruling same time around. He said the rules are internal overlaps can't fight but then said to be fair they should.
I understand a similar ruling (internal overlaps do not fight) was issued at the Berkeley FOGR event.
Still, glad to see the rules have managed to "avoid mechanisms that can lead to bizarre and unrealistic event on the tabletop." Section 1-2 (page 9 of hardcopy).

Because of course those troops would stand and watch.
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by ShrubMiK »

An alternative interpretation, if you really need to precisely map game mechanics onto real world events and try to justify them, is that the internal overlap is contributing to the fighting, but it and the troops to either side of it are trying to fit into a space more or less equivalent to one bases width and consequently can't all fight at full effect simultaneously.

Remember that the troops are not neatly lined up in base-sized rectangular blocks, and that when you have two continuous lines facing each other, no matter how the lines may bend each has the same frontage in contact...so one side getting more bases fighting in the middle of the line might seem to be an unreasonable quirk of unusual game geometry?

Internal overlaps are (I would say) quite rare in practice.

Not sure it's something that is explicitly covered in the AM rulebook, might be in a FAQ somewhere? And my familiarity with the R rulebook is quite small, so no idea at all there :)

And of course, in odd situations beyond what is explicitly covered by the rules, which will inevitably occur from time to time, judgements have to be made. And when that happens, inevitably YMMV.

In this case the ruling was that the additional bases did fight, so it sounds like you don't have a problem with that. To be able to comment meaningfully on the Berkeley ruling (which you seem to be suggesting was flawed), I'd need to see exactly what that situation was.
stenic
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Cheltenham, Glos, UK

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by stenic »

ShrubMiK wrote: In this case the ruling was that the additional bases did fight, so it sounds like you don't have a problem with that. To be able to comment meaningfully on the Berkeley ruling (which you seem to be suggesting was flawed), I'd need to see exactly what that situation was.
Indeed, it seems logical they should fight so I concur with the ruling compromise (if that's what it was) so they should fight as if conformed.

As for the Berkeley one I wasn't there so not really expecting a comment but rather I was remarking that the internal overlap situation was described to me but it wasn't clear so I couldn't follow it. I suspect they were so aghast at being told their bases may not contribute that they were too excited to explain it to me properly...that or I was having a dimwit day :? The main issue seemed to be it was felt the situation was engineered to exclude their bases from fighting deliberately.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28282
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by rbodleyscott »

stenic wrote:
ShrubMiK wrote: In this case the ruling was that the additional bases did fight, so it sounds like you don't have a problem with that. To be able to comment meaningfully on the Berkeley ruling (which you seem to be suggesting was flawed), I'd need to see exactly what that situation was.
Indeed, it seems logical they should fight so I concur with the ruling compromise (if that's what it was) so they should fight as if conformed.

As for the Berkeley one I wasn't there so not really expecting a comment but rather I was remarking that the internal overlap situation was described to me but it wasn't clear so I couldn't follow it. I suspect they were so aghast at being told their bases may not contribute that they were too excited to explain it to me properly...that or I was having a dimwit day :? The main issue seemed to be it was felt the situation was engineered to exclude their bases from fighting deliberately.
As I was the beneficiary of the Berkeley situation, I can clarify:

My BG was in frontal contact with two enemy BGs that were at 90 degrees to each other. The bases in contact were paired off against each other for the melee, the enemy bases (not in contact) in the middle of the "V" could not fight as overlaps, because the bases they would be overlapping were in the middle of my line.

The situation was actually engineered to engage both BGs so that they would not be able to charge me in the flank in a future bound. The internal overlap thing was an unexpected bonus. No ruling was required as the rules were clear.

As has been stated above, the logic is that you cannot fit more men in the middle of a line than the number of men that will fit in the line!

While this worked in my favour on that particular occasion, the rule is there to stop people deliberately kinking their line ( :shock: ) to get extra bases fighting.

The Usk situation differed in that the elephant fighting the darker based cataphracts was in contact with the side of the cataphracts' base, and hence was deemed as fighting as an overlap against them in the melee. As such it was not "counting as in front edge contact", so not covered by the no internal overlaps rule. I must admit that I made the ruling on the basis of fairness rather than the RAW, and without long consideration - I had my own game to get back to - but it turns out on further consideration that the RAW does in fact support the ruling.

As has been said elsewhere, please don't use Umpires' decisions as precedents. Umpires are required to give quick decisions which will sometimes, on further consideration, turn out to be wrong.
stenic
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:24 pm
Location: Cheltenham, Glos, UK

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by stenic »

Ah, that makes it clearer then Richard, thanks. You'd think I'd know by now not to listen to Andy ! :oops:
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Re: Rules ruling from Usk

Post by ShrubMiK »

I can see why somebody might think, in that situation, that disallowing the other two bases from fighting because they are an "internal overlap" is unfair. After all, the impacted BGs have twice as many solders, and if they were lined up and facing the same way, they would get an overlap on at least one side.

But then again, they are not currently lined up and facing the same way, so as melee is joined they are not in the ideal situation to bring their extra numbers to bear immediately, so the ruling seems fair enough to me.

If in their turn they get to conform (and assuming no other BGs stick their noses in) they'll get two overlaps at that point.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”