1) It says in bullet point eight of the rule, which deals with intercept charges, on page 31 of the beta rules, that an intercept charge "cannot include any shifts, changes of formation or interpenetrations." We had a situation occur where a battle group of knights intercept charge his light horse, but in doing so one base of te knights would contact a base my Lighter men-at-arms (cavalry armed with lancers). We were unsure how to deal with this and stepped backwards the base of knights. The point of contact for the intercept charge was 4 inches from the battle group of knights original position. See the photo below. Did we handle this correctly? If we did, can you please point to the part of the rules that deals with this situation.
2) Second, does the intercept charge occur at the moment the battle group being intercepted enters the zone of the battle group intercept charging it? Or, can the battle group doing the intercept charge pick the point in it contacts the point contacts the battle group it is intercepting? There appears to be nothing in the rules to clarify this. Again see the photo below. Can someone please answer this question and point to the part of the rules that deals with it.



