I have second question as a result of the battle my Medieval Germans fought against the Macedonians on Saturday. Can a player feed bases into a combat in the other players turn and if the the player whose turn it is does not feed any bases into combat?
In our battle my knights had charged into his light horse. We subsequently conformed and the Craig had moved his light foot into an overlap position. In his turn he could not feed any more bases of the battle group of light horse into combat, because their was space to do this. However, I could feed more bases of my knights into combat.
My reading of the rule, on page 35 of the beta test rule book, was that I was allowed to do this. The second bullet states:
"The active player expands first. The non-active player can match this expansion, or expand by one file to match the existing overlap, if there is room to do so. The non-active player cannot expand unless the active player expanded on the same side or already had troops on the that side in position to fight as an overlap in the next melee phase."
Richard Woolford, who was assisting Craig, read this as the non-active cannot expand unless the active player can. Which of us correct?
To move the battle long we rolled 1d6 to determine if I could do this and I rolled high and was allowed to.
There are a couple of photos below that show the situation.



