Charge Target
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
-
- Sergeant - Panzer IIC
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm
Charge Target
My BG has two targets, one steady straight ahead and one fragged slightly to the left. In FoG 1 I could charge the fragged BG with a wheel because the number of bases contacted was the same.
Now that fragged BGs do not "contribute" as many combat dice......
Now that fragged BGs do not "contribute" as many combat dice......
-
- Major-General - Tiger I
- Posts: 2379
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
- Location: Derbyshire, UK
Re: Charge Target
It's the number of dice that you throw that has to be the same or greater, the number that your opponent may throw is not important here.
Re: Charge Target
Of course , if the BG straight ahead is no longer a target of the charge, he may have the option to intercept.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
-
- Sergeant - Panzer IIC
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm
Re: Charge Target
Same response for losing dice? Charging into terrain, mounted vs camels/elephants?
-
- Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
- Posts: 615
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
- Location: Alaska
Re: Charge Target
Lycanthropic wrote:Same response for losing dice? Charging into terrain, mounted vs camels/elephants?
Let's re-word the answer a little. The RAW says the number of bases in contact has to be equal to or greater than a charge straight ahead. Normally, the dice will be the same or greater, but not necessarily; and, it doesn't matter. Just count the bases and forget the dice.It's the number of dice that you throw that has to be the same or greater, the number that your opponent may throw is not important here.
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Re: Charge Target
It depends if you are answering for V1 or 2 I assume.bbotus wrote:Let's re-word the answer a little. The RAW says the number of bases in contact has to be equal to or greater than a charge straight ahead. Normally, the dice will be the same or greater, but not necessarily; and, it doesn't matter. Just count the bases and forget the dice.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Major-General - Tiger I
- Posts: 2379
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
- Location: Derbyshire, UK
Re: Charge Target
Yes, I answered the original question based on V2, as the number of dice was not a factor in V1. The point about using a wheel that would take more bases into terrain, or mounted into contact with camels/elephants, is a good one though. The revised (V2) rule would prevent you from doing that.
-
- Major-General - Tiger I
- Posts: 2379
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
- Location: Derbyshire, UK
Re: Charge Target
Thinking about this some more, the new rule may have inadvertantly introduced an anomaly.

are my cavalry, facing down
are enemy cavalry,
are enemy elephants, all facing up.
A straight charge will contact the enemy cavalry. 1 front rank base will be disordered by the elephants (who cannot intercept because I do not cross their ZOI), so I will fight with 4 dice.
If I wheel to hit both BGs, both of my bases will be disordered by the elephants, so I will only get 3 dice at impact. This makes the charge illegal as I will get less dice. This would even be the case if my charge was into the rear of the enemy BGs.













A straight charge will contact the enemy cavalry. 1 front rank base will be disordered by the elephants (who cannot intercept because I do not cross their ZOI), so I will fight with 4 dice.
If I wheel to hit both BGs, both of my bases will be disordered by the elephants, so I will only get 3 dice at impact. This makes the charge illegal as I will get less dice. This would even be the case if my charge was into the rear of the enemy BGs.
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
Re: Charge Target
That example seems to be a sensible result for your cavalry - avoid the nellies 

Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Major-General - Tiger I
- Posts: 2379
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
- Location: Derbyshire, UK
Re: Charge Target
I agree that it's probably sensible, but it is a change from V1. It does also prevent me from charging both if it were a rear charge, or targeting the elephants to prevent them from (for example) intercepting another charge of mine.That example seems to be a sensible result for your cavalry - avoid the nellies
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
Re: Charge Target
Well get your troops in the right position to intercept then 

Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Major-General - Tiger I
- Posts: 2379
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
- Location: Derbyshire, UK
Re: Charge Target
Or convince my opponent to move to a more convenient location...Well get your troops in the right position to intercept then

-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
Re: Charge Target
Even better 

Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
- Posts: 615
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
- Location: Alaska
Re: Charge Target
I was afraid we'd start having confusion by mixing the V1 and V2 forums together. If it doesn't say V2 in the question, I'd think the assumption would be that V1 is assumed. Of course, there I go assuming.It depends if you are answering for V1 or 2 I assume.
nikgaukroger, do you suppose you could amend your thread at the start of this forum to say that if neither version is specified, then it should be assumed to be Version(whichever).
P.S. I can easily see someone picking up an old copy of V1 in a store, trying it, liking it, having a question, and getting thoroughly confused by the answer in this forum not realizing there is a V2 on the market. Good way to lose new players (customers for you business people).
-
- Sergeant - Panzer IIC
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm
Re: Charge Target
Drivel, utter drivel. My post is applicable to both versions of FoG. Thanks bbotus for that waste of perfectly good ascii characters.
Now back to my legitimate question - here is another example other than elephants and camels disrupting mounted confusing things...
What about heavy foot wanting to charge a fragmented enemy in rear that is in disordering terrain...instead of charging the LF bait in the open ahead?
Now back to my legitimate question - here is another example other than elephants and camels disrupting mounted confusing things...
What about heavy foot wanting to charge a fragmented enemy in rear that is in disordering terrain...instead of charging the LF bait in the open ahead?
Re: Charge Target
It looks like you cannot wheel if it would reduce the number of combat dice you, the charger, would roll if you were to contact the LF, even though you know that you can't catch the LF, because the rule specifically states that the dice are calculated based on the charge targets present at the moment of declaration, prior to any intercepts or evades. So you can't argue that charging the LF would result in 0 combat dice because they will evade and not be caught.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
Re: Charge Target
While this is a change from V1, and perhaps unintentional, it does seem to make cavalry vs elephants more realistic as an interaction.kevinj wrote:I agree that it's probably sensible, but it is a change from V1. It does also prevent me from charging both if it were a rear charge, or targeting the elephants to prevent them from (for example) intercepting another charge of mine.That example seems to be a sensible result for your cavalry - avoid the nellies
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
Re: Charge Target
It works different in the two versions though.Lycanthropic wrote:Drivel, utter drivel. My post is applicable to both versions of FoG. Thanks bbotus for that waste of perfectly good ascii characters.
Now back to my legitimate question - here is another example other than elephants and camels disrupting mounted confusing things...
What about heavy foot wanting to charge a fragmented enemy in rear that is in disordering terrain...instead of charging the LF bait in the open ahead?
In v2 they can't declare a charge such that they have less dice at impact. so if facing the LF might not be able to wheel enough to hit the fragged guys. Thoough in v2 the LF must evade and the HF can have a 1MU wheel. Oh, and the fragged guy willbreak as the charge is declared I seem to recall.
In v1 it's how many bases that will hit. So it doesn't matter that you'll lose dice. However, the LF might stand and there isn't that "if they evade you can always move 1MU" thing.
So the detail is a little different. Realistically though, this will rarely be an issue.
Where V" IS different is whne you have LH who want to charge the flank of proper troops and there are enemy LF straight ahead. Since the LH get 2 dice per base against LF and 1 per base against proper troops, there are a lot of circumstances where they can't charge the flank.
-
- Sergeant - Panzer IIC
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm
Re: Charge Target
Great, so not only mounted vs Elephants/Camels and foot into disordering terrain, and now LH wanting to get a flank charge. 
