Question about flank charges on a pikes BG

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
ecnomus
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:46 am

Question about flank charges on a pikes BG

Post by ecnomus »

Hi, that is the question,

We have a 8 bases BG of macedonic pikes, with a 2 bases width front and 4 bases deep. We suppose this BG is in frontal close combat with other enemy group.

Then a third BG makes a flank charge on the third base of one of his flanks. This charging BG impacts only this base of the group, the third one if one of the two files of the group.

Well, the question is, how many bases must i turn to face the flank charge? Is this conformation possible if only one base must turn to face the new enemies?

Thanks in advance,
Carlos.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28320
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Question about flank charges on a pikes BG

Post by rbodleyscott »

ecnomus wrote:Hi, that is the question,

We have a 8 bases BG of macedonic pikes, with a 2 bases width front and 4 bases deep. We suppose this BG is in frontal close combat with other enemy group.

Then a third BG makes a flank charge on the third base of one of his flanks. This charging BG impacts only this base of the group, the third one if one of the two files of the group.

Well, the question is, how many bases must i turn to face the flank charge? Is this conformation possible if only one base must turn to face the new enemies?

Thanks in advance,
Carlos.
The 3rd base turns 90 degrees as per the normal 90 degree turn rules. This means that the 4th base also turns, ending up behind the 3rd. So there will still only be one base in contact.

The 1st and 2nd bases are now only 2 ranks deep, so that file will lose both its Pikemen POAs.
terrys
Panzer Corps Team
Panzer Corps Team
Posts: 4237
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 11:53 am

Post by terrys »

The rule states:
Bases contacted on a side or rear edge, or a
rear corner, by an enemy flank or rear charge
are immediately turned 90 or 180 degrees
to face the chargers, using the normal rules
for turning, provided that they are not
already in contact with enemy to their front.
Both the 3rd and 4th bases turn to face the flank charge - 2 deep. (normal rules for turning 2 bases who's depth is 40mm or less)
ecnomus
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:46 am

Post by ecnomus »

Thank you very much for your responses.

Carlos.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”