2 Issues from last night

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
carlos
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:27 am

2 Issues from last night

Post by carlos »

Me and Brian were playing yesterday and came upon these 2 situations we could not solve.

First, his MF Indian Bowmen were charged on the flank by my light horse as show below. We turned the contacted bases to face the LH in the impact phase. During the ensuing melee, the indians fed two more bases into the combat in front of my overlap. The LH failed to disrupt the Indians so they broke off. My question is, in what formation do the Indians finish? Do they resume their original formation or can they then face the LH who broke off?
Image

Second, the Roman CV and LH broke a BG of Indian MF and they fled. There are some Indian CV partially in front of the Roman LH. Do the Roman LH contact the Indian CV during their pursuit? Or do they go straight for the broken MF wheeling or contracting to avoid the Indian CV?
Image
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Hi Carlos

SEE REFORMING BULLET 2

They reform in the direction pevisouly facing - so forwards - but with a frontal width equal to the number of bases currently facing that way. So they end up 2 wide 4 deep facing the old forwards. They make this reform as the first part of their next move. There is nomprice for this.

SEE PURSUITS IN THE JAP

On the second you can only fall bcak bases to avoid friends. Pursuits must be by wheels. As the Roman LH cannot wheel past the opposing cavalry they would hit them except that skimishers can opt to stop 1 MU from non skimishers. So they stop 1 MU short (or where they are if nearer than that).

Simon
shall
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 6137
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:52 am

Post by shall »

Hi Carlos

SEE REFORMING BULLET 2

They reform in the direction pevisouly facing - so forwards - but with a frontal width equal to the number of bases currently facing that way. So they end up 2 wide 4 deep facing the old forwards. They make this reform as the first part of their next move. There is nomprice for this.

SEE PURSUITS IN THE JAP

On the second you can only fall bcak bases to avoid friends. Pursuits must be by wheels. As the Roman LH cannot wheel past the opposing cavalry they would hit them except that skimishers can opt to stop 1 MU from non skimishers. So they stop 1 MU short (or where they are if nearer than that).

Simon
carlos
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 9:27 am

Post by carlos »

Thanks!
sesma
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 9:38 am

Post by sesma »

Hi,
contacts during pursuits and such are tricky things and I got this questions:

if pursuers contact fresh enemy this is resolved in the next impact phase, but, can the contacted enemy evade?

If enemy can evade, when is it resolved?

Thanks.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28321
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

shall wrote:Hi Carlos

SEE REFORMING BULLET 2

They reform in the direction pevisouly facing - so forwards - but with a frontal width equal to the number of bases currently facing that way. So they end up 2 wide 4 deep facing the old forwards. They make this reform as the first part of their next move. There is nomprice for this.
Actually they can choose to reform facing either their original facing or the direction they were fighting the LH. And they don't have to reform at all unless they move.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28321
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

sesma wrote:Hi,
contacts during pursuits and such are tricky things and I got this questions:

if pursuers contact fresh enemy this is resolved in the next impact phase, but, can the contacted enemy evade?

If enemy can evade, when is it resolved?
They can evade if they are troops who would normally be able to evade a charge. They do so in whichever phase the pursuit move would otherwise contact them.
jlopez
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:57 pm
Location: Spain

Post by jlopez »

rbodleyscott wrote:
sesma wrote:Hi,
contacts during pursuits and such are tricky things and I got this questions:

if pursuers contact fresh enemy this is resolved in the next impact phase, but, can the contacted enemy evade?

If enemy can evade, when is it resolved?
They can evade if they are troops who would normally be able to evade a charge. They do so in whichever phase the pursuit move would otherwise contact them.
Really? Where does it say so? I thought pursuers contacted all fresh enemy as explained here:

"Pursuers normally contact any fresh enemy in their path. However, skirmishers can choose to halt their pursuit 1 MU away from fresh enemy non-skirmishers. If they do so, all their front rank bases stop on that line."

Julian
jlopez
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 589
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:57 pm
Location: Spain

Post by jlopez »

jlopez wrote:
rbodleyscott wrote:
sesma wrote:Hi,
contacts during pursuits and such are tricky things and I got this questions:

if pursuers contact fresh enemy this is resolved in the next impact phase, but, can the contacted enemy evade?

If enemy can evade, when is it resolved?
They can evade if they are troops who would normally be able to evade a charge. They do so in whichever phase the pursuit move would otherwise contact them.
Really? Where does it say so? I thought pursuers contacted all fresh enemy as explained here:

"Pursuers normally contact any fresh enemy in their path. However, skirmishers can choose to halt their pursuit 1 MU away from fresh enemy non-skirmishers. If they do so, all their front rank bases stop on that line."

Julian
Forget it. I´ve turned the page...Damn it!

Julian
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”