Hi All
Played OG AM last night for the first time in about 18 months.
Realized i seem to have forgotten some basic stuff so what happened was -
Norman kn charged Byzant Cv but only one base had the range to hit on the
charge - fought the impact with one base vs one base - 2 dice each.
Now during the manoevre phase it says that the other bases must slide forward
and conform to a correct formation on the active players turn.
So i slid forward the norman KN s so that they all were touching the opposing
Byzant cv and we had a 4 vs 4 base fight with an overlap for the byzants.
thus 4 v 5 - now is that absolutely correct as the initial impact was only
just reachable by one of the norman knights at a slight angle.
Have i done this correctly ?
Steve
Conforming during manoevre for melee
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
-
zoltan
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser

- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Re: Conforming during manoevre for melee
Its hard to know the exact position without a picture. You say only one knight base contacted in the charge. However any sliding forward is also done in the impact phase as part of the charge as long as the sliding bases don't lose physical contact with their mates or move more than 2 MUs past the point of first contact.
Also remember that you are only required to conform bases in contact during the manoeuvre phase 'if possible'. I don't think this allows you to put more bases into contact than contacted during the impact. If only one base contacted during the impact phase you should only fight in the melee phase with one base plus any overlaps.
Also remember that you are only required to conform bases in contact during the manoeuvre phase 'if possible'. I don't think this allows you to put more bases into contact than contacted during the impact. If only one base contacted during the impact phase you should only fight in the melee phase with one base plus any overlaps.
-
philqw78
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus

- Posts: 8836
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Re: Conforming during manoevre for melee
AAAAAA
____B
___B(2)
__B
_B
If B charged in from the right to left at an angle to A, hitting A with a front corner, and B2 etc could not step forward in impact then when conforming all B would end in frontal contact as it is the shortest legal conform
____B
___B(2)
__B
_B
If B charged in from the right to left at an angle to A, hitting A with a front corner, and B2 etc could not step forward in impact then when conforming all B would end in frontal contact as it is the shortest legal conform
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Re: Conforming during manoevre for melee
Hi
So does that mean that if in impact only one base has the move to contact
then i can still slide the others forward 2 mu even if they will exceed their move ?
Also - i am sure it says you must adopt a legal formation for the melee -
that is in this case a straight line or a rectangle.
So since my knight base contacted at a fairly shallow angle say 20 degrees off
the front of the Cav then in order for it to conform to the front of the cav
then it must line up with the cav and either leave the rest of its unit behind
in which case do the cav get overlaps on both sides and the kn get none because
in conforming to the front of the cv they have left the unit behind.
What we did was slide the rest of the kn forward as they were the active unit
to a straight line which is a legal formation
So was that right ? - sliding forward beyond out previous charge move.
Steve
So does that mean that if in impact only one base has the move to contact
then i can still slide the others forward 2 mu even if they will exceed their move ?
Also - i am sure it says you must adopt a legal formation for the melee -
that is in this case a straight line or a rectangle.
So since my knight base contacted at a fairly shallow angle say 20 degrees off
the front of the Cav then in order for it to conform to the front of the cav
then it must line up with the cav and either leave the rest of its unit behind
in which case do the cav get overlaps on both sides and the kn get none because
in conforming to the front of the cv they have left the unit behind.
What we did was slide the rest of the kn forward as they were the active unit
to a straight line which is a legal formation
So was that right ? - sliding forward beyond out previous charge move.
Steve
-
grahambriggs
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E

- Posts: 3073
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
Re: Conforming during manoevre for melee
The step forwards rules apply even if the stepped forward bases exceed their move.
When conforming, the bases in contact conform and the rest of the unit is moved in to make a leagl formation. Sounds like you did it correctly.
When conforming, the bases in contact conform and the rest of the unit is moved in to make a leagl formation. Sounds like you did it correctly.
-
zoltan
- Captain - Heavy Cruiser

- Posts: 901
- Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
- Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Re: Conforming during manoevre for melee
So moving the other bases into contact is not actually the 'step forwards' rule (which is only used during impact). Rather, it is the 'must form a legal formation on any bases actually in contact' rule.
-
bbotus
- Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad

- Posts: 615
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
- Location: Alaska
Re: Conforming during manoevre for melee
Since the contact angle was small, it sounds like the other knights could have and should have stepped forward up to 2 MU max and make contact at impact. That would be a required move, not optional. The 2 MU step forward happens after the charge move to contact. Whether your charge to contact takes 1 MU or the max charge move, doesn't matter. After initial contact the other bases must move up to 2 additional MUs if, and only if, that would put them in legal contact.switze01 wrote:Hi
So does that mean that if in impact only one base has the move to contact
then i can still slide the others forward 2 mu even if they will exceed their move ?
Also - i am sure it says you must adopt a legal formation for the melee -
that is in this case a straight line or a rectangle.
So since my knight base contacted at a fairly shallow angle say 20 degrees off
the front of the Cav then in order for it to conform to the front of the cav
then it must line up with the cav and either leave the rest of its unit behind
in which case do the cav get overlaps on both sides and the kn get none because
in conforming to the front of the cv they have left the unit behind.
What we did was slide the rest of the kn forward as they were the active unit
to a straight line which is a legal formation
So was that right ? - sliding forward beyond out previous charge move.
Steve
As for the rest, you did it right. The sequence is to (1) reform if any bases stepped forward, (2) conform to the enemy in block if the reform didn't do it and it is possible to do so, then (3) if you have any bases not eligible to fight in the melee you may feed additional bases into the melee.
You can't leave part of the unit behind. That would violate page 23 BG Formations.
