Pursing and steeping forward

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Rekila
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:57 pm
Location: Galiza

Pursing and steeping forward

Post by Rekila »

The following situation arouse in our present game. A unit of Genovese crossbowmen (8b in 2 front 4 deep) )charge a disrupted BG of English billmen (4b) with a general . Fragmented them in Impact an after expanding to a front of 3 bases broke them in the melee phase of the same turn (yes that’s how the whole affair is going!) The billmen run away, interpenetrating in the process the rear corner base of a longbow BG. The pursing Genovese followed contacting with one base the longbowmen so charging them in the flank. So far so good! The question is, as they have now charged a new BG is the pursing over. The billmen are only one MU away so if the bases not in contact step forward they can still maintain the contact with the broken billmen forcing the lost of a base and a death roll on the commander.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

Post by hazelbark »

Yes they hit and you roll for Commander.
rogerg
Captain - Bf 110D
Captain - Bf 110D
Posts: 855
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 1:02 pm
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

Post by rogerg »

I don't have the rules to hand, but I think the answer is that they do step forward after making a new contact. If they contact the fleeing BG first they would not step forward.
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Re: Pursing and steeping forward

Post by bbotus »

rogerg wrote:I don't have the rules to hand, but I think the answer is that they do step forward after making a new contact. If they contact the fleeing BG first they would not step forward.
Agreed, the reference is the 2nd bullet, 2nd column, page 108: Contact with a new unit is treated like a charge so you step forward.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”