A thread for questions I've got upon reading the rules, to which a search of the forum or rules don't seem give an answer.
First up...
In the Assault Phase, if you fail a CMT to assault, am I correct in assuming you cannot later move that unit in the Movement Phase of the same turn? Or, having failed, is the unit still able to move normally?
I see that it says having failed a CMT no further CMTs can be taken by that unit during the same phase, but Assault and Movement are different phases. That suggests you could move the unit in the movement phase, but it's not clear.
My Rule Questions
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core
-
- Corporal - Strongpoint
- Posts: 56
- Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:50 am
-
- Master Sergeant - U-boat
- Posts: 544
- Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:42 am
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Contact:
Re: My Rule Questions
Hi,
My understanding is that they can move as long as they did not move during the Assault phase, and were not forced to make an Outcome move during the Assault or Firing phase.
See p.35 under GENERAL MOVEMENT RULES.
Cheers,
John Shaw
My understanding is that they can move as long as they did not move during the Assault phase, and were not forced to make an Outcome move during the Assault or Firing phase.
See p.35 under GENERAL MOVEMENT RULES.
Cheers,
John Shaw
Re: My Rule Questions
You can still move in the movement phase as normal.In the Assault Phase, if you fail a CMT to assault, am I correct in assuming you cannot later move that unit in the Movement Phase of the same turn? Or, having failed, is the unit still able to move normally?
Failing a CMT to charge just means that the unit never received the order to charge - or they weren't brave enough to charge that particular enemy. They still have their 20min normal move to do something else.
-
- Corporal - Strongpoint
- Posts: 56
- Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:50 am
Re: My Rule Questions
Question from today's battle...
Cavalry declares a charge on a Wavering cavalry unit (about 9MU away). Wavering unit fails the Cohesion check, breaks, and does a rout move and moves back out of assault range. There are no other targets for the charging cavalry to change to... does it still move forward, or does it instead not charge and is free to move in the Movement Phase?
Cavalry declares a charge on a Wavering cavalry unit (about 9MU away). Wavering unit fails the Cohesion check, breaks, and does a rout move and moves back out of assault range. There are no other targets for the charging cavalry to change to... does it still move forward, or does it instead not charge and is free to move in the Movement Phase?
-
- General - Carrier
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
Re: My Rule Questions
You still assault. p 31 left column below the bullets.Jason_Langlois wrote:Question from today's battle...
Cavalry declares a charge on a Wavering cavalry unit (about 9MU away). Wavering unit fails the Cohesion check, breaks, and does a rout move and moves back out of assault range. There are no other targets for the charging cavalry to change to... does it still move forward, or does it instead not charge and is free to move in the Movement Phase?
"...or within 2 MU of the path of a retire move."
-
- Corporal - Strongpoint
- Posts: 56
- Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:50 am
Re: My Rule Questions
Aha, thanks. Got me on the right page... "If no new target is available the assaulting ... unit completes it full move distance in the direction of the original assault..."