Pike & Shot after a flank contact...

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
Caratacus2021
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:13 pm

Pike & Shot after a flank contact...

Post by Caratacus2021 »

Our first try at FoGR, using ECW armies - things got a bit interesting...

One foot regiment (pike & shot, as usual) managed a flank contact with another - just with the flank file of muskets.
At Impact, the receiving unit turned their flank file of shot to face chargers (actually pursues from another combat).
No-one broke, so in Manouevre phase, the chargers/ex-pursuers pivoted and shifted so the BG was nicely aligned against the flank of the receiving enemy. They could not feed more bases from the unengaged flank without making an illegal formation (mixed BG must keep musket each side of pike) so the whole BG slid sideways.
So far so good. We now have our pike in contact with the turned file of shot, and shot overlaps on each side.

The problem is - how do the flanked BG react? They cannot feed in unengaged troops against either overlap without forming an illegal BG.

We decided, until we can find an answer, to allow the pike to move out against one overlap and leave the far flank musket to slide up, still facing forward and not engaged in the Melee for the first turn, then reform a proper formation if they are still there by e next manoeuvre phase.

Was that right?
Caratacus2021
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: Pike & Shot after a flank contact...

Post by Caratacus2021 »

Aha! After a careful re-read, I think I've answered my own question...
Troops contacted on flank only - flank file turns to face in Impact.
Pg 95: In Manoeuvre, reform is optional (but advisable!). Whole BG turns to face in single file. (legal formation, same position - pg 94).
Pg97: feeding extra troops- can expand into illegal for,action as an intermediate step.

So we were almost right, but should have turned the whole BG to the flank in the Manoeuvre phase before feeding out one file. If still there at next manoeuvre phase, MUST then complete a legal formation by expanding the last file.
Caratacus2021
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 3:13 pm

Re: Pike & Shot after a flank contact...

Post by Caratacus2021 »

Ahem! Excuse the typos in that last (iPad) post. I must learn to preview before submission.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”