FOGN errata
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core
Re: FOGN errata
French Corps d'armée 1812
Rhienbund Infantry : LN average, conscript : 6 PT if they are reformed it should be 7 PT ( yes I am always looking for strange units )
There is no italian ally . They formed the IV corps under rince Eugène with one infantry division + the guard and there was one division with the XI corps .
Wurtemberg : they formed 2 divisions of the III corps .One of infantry with 2 brigades made of 2 line regiments, 1 light bataillon and one brigade made of 2 light bataillons + one cavalry bataillon with 2 cheveau léger regiment + 2 chasseur à cheval regiment ( latter they will be separated ) .
Yet Italian and Wurtemberg do not appear as possible ally in the 1812 army list .
Rhienbund Infantry : LN average, conscript : 6 PT if they are reformed it should be 7 PT ( yes I am always looking for strange units )
There is no italian ally . They formed the IV corps under rince Eugène with one infantry division + the guard and there was one division with the XI corps .
Wurtemberg : they formed 2 divisions of the III corps .One of infantry with 2 brigades made of 2 line regiments, 1 light bataillon and one brigade made of 2 light bataillons + one cavalry bataillon with 2 cheveau léger regiment + 2 chasseur à cheval regiment ( latter they will be separated ) .
Yet Italian and Wurtemberg do not appear as possible ally in the 1812 army list .
-
- Corporal - Strongpoint
- Posts: 57
- Joined: Wed May 25, 2011 10:44 pm
Re: FOGN errata
A Polish Uhlan Regiment under General Konopka was attacked by Cossacks near Slonim. The Cossacks dispersed the regiment, killing many, and taking a large number of prisoners.What examples are there of cossacks engaging Uhlans at the squadron level or higher?
At Mir, Cossacks defeated the 3rd, 15th and 16th Polish Uhlans - the 3rd Uhlans were wipe out. The Cossacks were supported by regular Russian cavalry.
In 1812, the Grodno Hussars, with Cossacks on the flanks, defeated Polish and French Hussars at Drouia. The Poles and French fled with the Cossacks in pursuit, harassing them at every opportunity. The Cossacks' prisoners were sent to General Wittgenstein.But i recall lots of riding around not fighting by the cossacks.
Three Cossack regiments defeated the Polish 1st Chasseurs at Romanov. They were supported by Russian Hussars, Dragoons, Uhlans and horse artillery.
In October 1813 near Kassel, three Cossack regiments destroyed the Hussar Regiment ‘Jerome’.
As for being a nuisance, over 3500 Young Guard were harassed by 800 Cossacks at Langengebode, on the road to Hanau. The Young Guard were pinned down until, at daybreak, Bavarians arrived and took the Young Guard as POWs.
Cossacks are very useful when the opportunity presents itself - Generals Vandamme and Haxo knew this all too well (both were captured by Cossacks when they rode into the middle of a retreating French infantry column, captured the two officers, and rode away!)
Jimi
-
- General - Carrier
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
Re: FOGN errata
Well it sort of does "partly to their front"nosher wrote:P53 Firing (when determining whats score to hit on):
2nd Bullet Point in sub table. 'Infantry must start their assault within 1 base width of the front of the firers'
This is not on the QRS - No wonder my assaulting cloumns never seemed to make contact!
Note this doesn't mean the infantry can ONLY assault if they start with one base width. It means if infantry charges in from an off angle this doesn't apply. Creates an odd effect to launch charges in echelon not straight in.
-
- Master Sergeant - U-boat
- Posts: 544
- Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:42 am
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Contact:
Re: FOGN errata
Hi,
You cannot assault using an echelon move except in the circumstance listed below:
You can wheel within the first half of your charge move. Then the rest of the move is straight ahead.
There is no echelon move in FOGN, other than the circumstances where you can slide sideways by up to 1 basewidth (p.38).
And the only circumstance you allowed within 2MU of an enemy unit when performing this slide is by the minimum amount to avoid friends.
You will often see players making this mistake where they just do an illegal angle move, rather than doing it by a legal combination of straight ahead and wheels.
Cheers,
John Shaw
You cannot assault using an echelon move except in the circumstance listed below:
You can wheel within the first half of your charge move. Then the rest of the move is straight ahead.
There is no echelon move in FOGN, other than the circumstances where you can slide sideways by up to 1 basewidth (p.38).
And the only circumstance you allowed within 2MU of an enemy unit when performing this slide is by the minimum amount to avoid friends.
You will often see players making this mistake where they just do an illegal angle move, rather than doing it by a legal combination of straight ahead and wheels.
Cheers,
John Shaw
-
- Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
- Posts: 35
- Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: FOGN errata
So when is the errata actually coming out?
John
http://fuentesdeonoro.blogspot.com/
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"
http://fuentesdeonoro.blogspot.com/
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"
-
- Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
- Posts: 35
- Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 4:23 pm
- Contact:
Re: FOGN errata
So when is the errata actually coming out?
John
http://fuentesdeonoro.blogspot.com/
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"
http://fuentesdeonoro.blogspot.com/
Rappelez-vous quel Voltaire a dit; "Dieu n'est pas du côté des grands bataillons, mais est du côté de ceux qui tirent mieux"
-
- General - Carrier
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
Re: FOGN errata
Echelon was not the mechanic but a description.Chasseur wrote:Hi,
You cannot assault using an echelon move except in the circumstance listed below:
You can wheel within the first half of your charge move. Then the rest of the move is straight ahead.
There is no echelon move in FOGN, other than the circumstances where you can slide sideways by up to 1 basewidth (p.38).
And the only circumstance you allowed within 2MU of an enemy unit when performing this slide is by the minimum amount to avoid friends.
You will often see players making this mistake where they just do an illegal angle move, rather than doing it by a legal combination of straight ahead and wheels.
11223344
___AABBCCDD
Lets ignore the geometry times distance for the moment. But assume the letters are mounted they wheel and charge. A versus 1 B versus 2 and so forth.
-
- Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
- Posts: 1266
- Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 am
- Location: Auckland, NZ
Re: FOGN errata
Hi Terry
A piece of errata.
1. Under assaults on page 28 it says you have to CMT to assault through friends. These can only be skirmishers, artillery, or non-broken infantry of same division. [so CMT to assault through these troops]
2. The CMT table on page 44 however says you take a CMT if assaulting through friends who are not skirmishers, artillery or infantry of the same division. [so no CMT to assault through these troops]
3. The QRF says an assault through friends needs CMT unless they are skirmishers, artillery etc.
[so no CMT to assault through these troops].
Do you need to take a CMT to assault through friendly skirmishers/artillery and infantry of same division?
I assume yes, as otherwise the line on the QRF and pg 44 is superflous as you cannot charge through troops other than sk/art/inf of same div in any case (page 29).
Cheers
Brett
A piece of errata.
1. Under assaults on page 28 it says you have to CMT to assault through friends. These can only be skirmishers, artillery, or non-broken infantry of same division. [so CMT to assault through these troops]
2. The CMT table on page 44 however says you take a CMT if assaulting through friends who are not skirmishers, artillery or infantry of the same division. [so no CMT to assault through these troops]
3. The QRF says an assault through friends needs CMT unless they are skirmishers, artillery etc.
[so no CMT to assault through these troops].
Do you need to take a CMT to assault through friendly skirmishers/artillery and infantry of same division?
I assume yes, as otherwise the line on the QRF and pg 44 is superflous as you cannot charge through troops other than sk/art/inf of same div in any case (page 29).
Cheers
Brett
-
- Field Marshal - Me 410A
- Posts: 5286
- Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am
Re: FOGN errata
If they are from the same division it is simple, if from a different division it is a complex to pass through friends.
I think skirmishers and artillery are always simple to pass through regardless.
I think skirmishers and artillery are always simple to pass through regardless.
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: FOGN errata
Any official word on this? The charts seem to be at odds with pp. 28-29. It would seem the word 'not' should not be in the line on the charts.BrettPT wrote:Hi Terry
A piece of errata.
1. Under assaults on page 28 it says you have to CMT to assault through friends. These can only be skirmishers, artillery, or non-broken infantry of same division. [so CMT to assault through these troops]
2. The CMT table on page 44 however says you take a CMT if assaulting through friends who are not skirmishers, artillery or infantry of the same division. [so no CMT to assault through these troops]
3. The QRF says an assault through friends needs CMT unless they are skirmishers, artillery etc.
[so no CMT to assault through these troops].
Do you need to take a CMT to assault through friendly skirmishers/artillery and infantry of same division?
I assume yes, as otherwise the line on the QRF and pg 44 is superflous as you cannot charge through troops other than sk/art/inf of same div in any case (page 29).
Cheers
Brett
Re: FOGN errata
Page 28 is correct.1. Under assaults on page 28 it says you have to CMT to assault through friends. These can only be skirmishers, artillery, or non-broken infantry of same division. [so CMT to assault through these troops]
2. The CMT table on page 44 however says you take a CMT if assaulting through friends who are not skirmishers, artillery or infantry of the same division. [so no CMT to assault through these troops]
Re: FOGN errata
Bit slow in answeering these but:
I don't think I'll put this in the eraata though - as long as the written rule is clear it won't be needed.
You understand the reason why it should/should not assault, but I agree thet the unit as shown should be angled slightly to the left.Page 34 : example, why unit at the bottom left cannot assault, she could weel 90° and assault the flank ?, or why not ?
I don't think I'll put this in the eraata though - as long as the written rule is clear it won't be needed.
It should be "Simple"Page 45 : Table, Nothing is writen for "Artillery only" "unlimber" "steady or disorder" : so does not need a CMT or is it a "any another allowed move, manoeuver, or formation change not listed as simple" (page 44) and so need a CMT.
No, this is correct. There is no 'joint' maximum for the cavalry, just a single small unit of each.Page 125 : Table, I think a column is missing for "core cavalry" with the total of maximum base (as for" core infantry")
Re: FOGN errata
correct - No entire division of Landwher is allowed. (You mean you'd want one ?)It says you must have a skirmisher attachment for evey infantry or mixed division. As landwehr are not allowed skirmisher attachments, does this mean you cannot field a Division of only landwehr infantry?
Don
Re: FOGN errata
How far away is an official errata?
I am really struggling (not just in this thread - but in others too) to keep track of what has been agreed as an errata and what hasn't
Some of the errata questions dont appear to have had official answers which makes things even more confusing.
I am really struggling (not just in this thread - but in others too) to keep track of what has been agreed as an errata and what hasn't

Some of the errata questions dont appear to have had official answers which makes things even more confusing.

Re: FOGN errata
Hi all
Page 133 - 3rd bullet says Jaegers and Grenzers including all skirmisher attachments must all be in the same mixed division
Page 134 Attachments - Skirmishers Only in a mixed division with no light infantry
Do I get something wrong?
Page 133 - 3rd bullet says Jaegers and Grenzers including all skirmisher attachments must all be in the same mixed division
Page 134 Attachments - Skirmishers Only in a mixed division with no light infantry
Do I get something wrong?
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: FOGN errata
You got nothing wrong. It means:paris wrote:Hi all
Page 133 - 3rd bullet says Jaegers and Grenzers including all skirmisher attachments must all be in the same mixed division
Page 134 Attachments - Skirmishers Only in a mixed division with no light infantry
Do I get something wrong?
a) a mixed division with all the Jaegers and Grenzers if you take any
or
b) you have 1 mixed division with all your skirmisher attachments in that one division
You just can't have both types...it's either/or
Re: FOGN errata
Thanks alot Blathergut - that settles it all 

-
- General - Carrier
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
Re: FOGN errata
p 95 River and stream.
Clearly a lot of these are meant for both rivers and streams. But they dont' specify here.
p 98 does for placement.
Clearly a lot of these are meant for both rivers and streams. But they dont' specify here.
p 98 does for placement.
Re: FOGN errata
I've found a couple of conflicts that do not seem to have been commented on by anyone else. Could someone please point me in the right direction if I'm wrong or add them to the list of potential errata?
In the sample Austrian list, p133 implies that skirmish attachments of jaegers and grenzers must be in the same mixed division as other jaegers and grenzers, while the note in the skirmisher attachment section on p134 says skirmish attachments may only be in a mixed division without light infantry (jaegers and grenzers?).
The skirmishers attachment section on p88 refers to a picture of a unit in Tactical formation "as shown below". But I can't find any such picture.
Nigel.
In the sample Austrian list, p133 implies that skirmish attachments of jaegers and grenzers must be in the same mixed division as other jaegers and grenzers, while the note in the skirmisher attachment section on p134 says skirmish attachments may only be in a mixed division without light infantry (jaegers and grenzers?).
The skirmishers attachment section on p88 refers to a picture of a unit in Tactical formation "as shown below". But I can't find any such picture.
Nigel.
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: FOGN errata
This question was answered a couple posts up. The notes mean that you either:PerryN wrote:I've found a couple of conflicts that do not seem to have been commented on by anyone else. Could someone please point me in the right direction if I'm wrong or add them to the list of potential errata?
In the sample Austrian list, p133 implies that skirmish attachments of jaegers and grenzers must be in the same mixed division as other jaegers and grenzers, while the note in the skirmisher attachment section on p134 says skirmish attachments may only be in a mixed division without light infantry (jaegers and grenzers?).
The skirmishers attachment section on p88 refers to a picture of a unit in Tactical formation "as shown below". But I can't find any such picture.
Nigel.
a) have one division (only) with the jaegers and grenzers and no skirmishers
or
b) have one division (only) with no jaegers and grenzers (hence none in the army) and all skirmisher attachments are in this one division (but you can have as many as you have inf. units to attach them too.