Free Quick Play Rules
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Blathergut, Slitherine Core
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Free Quick Play Rules
Free rules Here JD must be ill.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- General - Carrier
- Posts: 4957
- Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
- Location: Capital of the World !!
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Awesome.
A free beer for you Phil.
A free beer for you Phil.
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
See you in August
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Btw- what is he benefit of the attached artillery base in the quick play rules. The two Austrian line have this. Is it already figured into the shooting ability of the Austrian line?
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
And why is medium and short range listed as the same 2-6".
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
I would have thought mainly its because the rules are only 6 pages long and the artillery attachment makes it look interesting. But I don't know, I haven't read either set.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Because it saves you having to work it out. The 'total' dice for each unit is given - allowing for attachments.Btw- what is he benefit of the attached artillery base in the quick play rules. The two Austrian line have this. Is it already figured into the shooting ability of the Austrian line?
Code: Select all
And why is medium and short range listed as the same 2-6".
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Very nice, but formatting of some charts are off, several confusing typos and some unit pictures are wrong.
Deeter
Deeter
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Ok! I think I got it. It means the 2 dice at medium range represent only the artillery firing. Will try this scenario out tonight and see how it goes.
Ian
Ian
-
- Master Sergeant - U-boat
- Posts: 544
- Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:42 am
- Location: Melbourne, Australia
- Contact:
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Hi,
Yes, you got that right.
In the full rules an artillery attachment adds 2 dice if firing separately at medium range. The firing spearately occurs if the infantry has no skirmish capability (so can only fire at short range). In all other situations the artillery attachment adds 1 dice.
Regards,
John Shaw
Yes, you got that right.
In the full rules an artillery attachment adds 2 dice if firing separately at medium range. The firing spearately occurs if the infantry has no skirmish capability (so can only fire at short range). In all other situations the artillery attachment adds 1 dice.
Regards,
John Shaw
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
What size are bases for 25/28mm? I couldn't find mention in the Quick Play sheets.
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
And I can't seem to get them to print properly. The double pages won't fit on 8.5 x 11.
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Got it...had to go into printing options.Blathergut wrote:And I can't seem to get them to print properly. The double pages won't fit on 8.5 x 11.

-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Found it (60mm x 45mm) in forum postings.Blathergut wrote:What size are bases for 25/28mm? I couldn't find mention in the Quick Play sheets.
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Extended Lines Firing!!??
Does an extended Austrian line, 4 bases wide, shoot with 12 (6 and 6) dice at close range??!!
-
- Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
- Posts: 584
- Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 12:08 am
- Location: Clevedon, England
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Both halves of any infantry in extended line can do this, however only large units get that number of dice.
It is also very difficult to concentrate all that fire on to one target.
In my experience (play testing) close range firing only takes place during an assault by the defending unit.
It is unadvisable to assault a unit of infantry if it is in good order, unless you can rely on very good dice.
Don
It is also very difficult to concentrate all that fire on to one target.
In my experience (play testing) close range firing only takes place during an assault by the defending unit.
It is unadvisable to assault a unit of infantry if it is in good order, unless you can rely on very good dice.
Don
-
- Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
- Posts: 1266
- Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:52 am
- Location: Auckland, NZ
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
i usually field unreformed Austrians where there is plenty of close range shooting. A common tactic of mine is to assault with a large unit of Austrians with attached artillery - with little intention of charging home. You advance to 2MU of the enemy in the assault, they carry out defence fire and you cross fingers they don't do 4 hits (reduced to 3 for being a large target) as this drives you back to 3MU out of close range.donm wrote: In my experience (play testing) close range firing only takes place during an assault by the defending unit.
Don
If they do anyting less than 4 hits, you elect not to push the assault home but stay at 2MU (representing shaking the columns out into line rather than pressing home with the bayonet)
You then get to shoot first in the shooting phase, with 8 dice (down to 6 if you are disordered) and hopefully seriously damage the enemy before they reply in defensive shooting.
You can then try to rally your infantry at the end of your turn in the recovery phase.
Works sometimes, but other times you are simply giving the enemy 2 close range shots (once in defensive fire, then again in the shooting step).
dangerous, but you cannot sit back at 6 MU if you can't skirmish shoot. Your opponent will simply park at skirmish range and shoot you until you are disordered, then close with his fresh units for the kill.
Cheers
Brett
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Thanks for the help. This is all just working from the Quick Play sheets until rules arrive.
Another:
The Quick Play sheets, page two, under "What type of moves..." states you pass a CMT if, when you roll two dice, "a 5 or 6 pops up on either dice."
But on the Movement Table, page four, it states at the bottom of it that you pass a CMT if you roll 5 or greater.
Which is it?
Another:
The Quick Play sheets, page two, under "What type of moves..." states you pass a CMT if, when you roll two dice, "a 5 or 6 pops up on either dice."
But on the Movement Table, page four, it states at the bottom of it that you pass a CMT if you roll 5 or greater.
Which is it?
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
And another (am I driving you all crazy yet??):
It isn't clear for this foggy olde brain about charging. If I assault a unit, I move into contact? Yet it seems like there is a firing round before contact is made. So when I charge, (as in the comment above), do I stop short? And we both fire? And if I survive and pass a CMT (depending on hits), I then move into contact and we'll be using combat dice and no firing dice?
It isn't clear for this foggy olde brain about charging. If I assault a unit, I move into contact? Yet it seems like there is a firing round before contact is made. So when I charge, (as in the comment above), do I stop short? And we both fire? And if I survive and pass a CMT (depending on hits), I then move into contact and we'll be using combat dice and no firing dice?
-
- Field Marshal - Elefant
- Posts: 5882
- Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:44 am
- Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Re: Free Quick Play Rules
Nabbed a copy of the rules...I see it is a certain number on a dice.