Artillery Movement and Firing

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
Switzer
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 4:11 pm

Artillery Movement and Firing

Post by Switzer »

Hi All

I may have been doing this wrong but -
Last night i pivoted some medium arty - couldnt fire my my turn obviously
but when i tried to fire during my opponents turn it was said that the statement
in the rules you cannot fire in the following phase also applies to the opposing
players following turn .
I agreed to avoid an argument but they way the rules are written it looks to me
that it applies to the phasing players turn only.
ie if you move pivot in your turn then you CAN fire in the opponents following
turn
Can anyone clear this up for me ?

Steve
alasdair2204
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 1:40 pm

Re: Artillery Movement and Firing

Post by alasdair2204 »

Switzer wrote:Hi All

I may have been doing this wrong but -
Last night i pivoted some medium arty - couldnt fire my my turn obviously
but when i tried to fire during my opponents turn it was said that the statement
in the rules you cannot fire in the following phase also applies to the opposing
players following turn .
I agreed to avoid an argument but they way the rules are written it looks to me
that it applies to the phasing players turn only.
ie if you move pivot in your turn then you CAN fire in the opponents following
turn
Can anyone clear this up for me ?

Steve
I haven't got my rules with me but you can fire in their turn just not your turn when you actually move the guns

cheers

Alasdair
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Re: Artillery Movement and Firing

Post by petedalby »

I believe Alasdair is spot on. See page 106.

A Turn is split into Phases - see page 51. The manoeuvre phase precedes the shooting phase. There is no suggestion at all that Artillery which moved in the preceding Turn cannot shoot.

Hopefully your oppoent will agree.
Pete
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”