Christmas Quiz

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Post by bbotus »

philqw78 wrote:
bbotus wrote:
1 dice, double minus against light green
I agree 1 die against light green but why does it have to be the LF that gets the die and not the MF at a +? My reference is page 94 2nd bullet, top of page, Allocating Combat Dice.
The first sentence top P94 explains. But again is not conclusive as many of the rules aren't. "A dice that is made up ... with different POA's rolls at the worst applicable." .... because it says from different BG, they didn't think it through, also is that enemy or friendly BG? Normally they would not be against different BG, so????????????????????????? It's worth arguing either way as dice are lost in proportion, LF lose a dice first, then lose a dice for fragmented, then lose in proportion to something else, then, etc.

But most importantly its my quiz and the umpires decision is final, dissent means loss of points so you're back on zero points with the rest of the world :wink:

this is in no way any admission of possible wrongness except on the part of the authors
WELL! Since I've lost all my points, it can't hurt to argue with the umpire :lol:

The reference you make is a continuation of the 3rd bullet on page 93. It is for more than one BG shooting at the same target. It says to add all bases together and then apply the 1 dice per x bases rules. The BGs may be able to combine to get extra dice than if each unit fired separately. In so doing they use the worst POA. That does not apply to impact and melee situations.

I'd like to refer you to the 2nd bullet on page 93 which says: "If some bases have different POAs, roll separately for them." That is how we all handle impact and melee rolls. Also, the 2nd bullet top of page 94, which we have already discussed, says to allocate dice proportionally, which is why the Dailami have a choice of which base to use.

Disclaimer: The opinions stated are my own. My wife tells me she is always right. :roll:
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

bbotus wrote:says to allocate dice proportionally, which is why the Dailami have a choice of which base to use.

My wife tells me she is always right. :roll:
Perhaps you should ask her opinion

Proportionality means that since the LF have already lost a dice the next dice lost comes from the MF.

You are completely right about mixed POA dice refering to shooting, but it shows author intent for the loss of dice. In the end I think it is a situation the authors did not anticipate fully. An umpire call.

If it was 1 base Armd no sword and 1 base Armd with sword I would allow choice, which would obviously be the base with sword.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

philqw78 wrote:
bbotus wrote:says to allocate dice proportionally, which is why the Dailami have a choice of which base to use.

My wife tells me she is always right. :roll:
Perhaps you should ask her opinion

Proportionality means that since the LF have already lost a dice the next dice lost comes from the MF.
If only the rules said that, but they don't. They say if you're fightling against multiple BGs, lose in proportion. And they say, separately, if you've different POAs against the same BG lose in proportion. But that still let's you give the armoured guys the dice; since the proportion is 1 to 1.
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Post by ShrubMiK »

Far more importantly than all this FoG-related wiffle-waffle...on looking closely at your avatar I am shocked and apalled. Looks like it is meant to be either Scharnhorst or Gneisenau, and quite frankly only either a completely deranged weevil or possibly Mr "I am correct" Ruddock would ever have the nerve to refer to either of them as a Battleship. Heads must roll!!!
bbotus
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 615
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
Location: Alaska

Post by bbotus »

philqw78 wrote:..., but it shows author intent for the loss of dice. In the end I think it is a situation the authors did not anticipate fully. An umpire call.
Now I'm in the negative points range.

If a 3x2 MF longbow BG is shooting at armored foot, it gets a total of 4 dice hitting on 4s. If a second 3x2 slinger BG is shooting at the same target on the next turn, it also gets 4 dice but hits on 5s. Now if they shoot the same target on the same turn we add the bases before we deduct dice. So we have 6 bases in the front rank for 6 dice and 6 bases in the 2nd rank at 1 die per 2 bases for 3 dice. The total is 9 dice instead of the 8 dice if they shot separately. The author intent here is that you fire the 9 dice (1 extra) at 5s. This has nothing to do with hand to hand fighting.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”