Issue with Charging skirmishers
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
Issue with Charging skirmishers
P.46 Attempts to charge with skirmishers, last para.
"If any of the charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt .........."
I had a situation where my LH were in a position to rear charge enemy (non-skirmishers) already in combat, in my next turn. If my opponent can manage to interpose some skirmishers I must charge these instead. They evade and I must stop 1" from the 'real' target of my charge - the rear of the unit already in combat!
This seems a little odd - without the intervening unit I can charge without even a CMT. With the intervening unit I must halt 1" away!
I suggest this rule is amended so that LH can follow thru in these circumstances as per the bullet point immediately proceeding.
"If any of the charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt .........."
I had a situation where my LH were in a position to rear charge enemy (non-skirmishers) already in combat, in my next turn. If my opponent can manage to interpose some skirmishers I must charge these instead. They evade and I must stop 1" from the 'real' target of my charge - the rear of the unit already in combat!
This seems a little odd - without the intervening unit I can charge without even a CMT. With the intervening unit I must halt 1" away!
I suggest this rule is amended so that LH can follow thru in these circumstances as per the bullet point immediately proceeding.
-
- Colonel - Ju 88A
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
- Location: Former British Empire
Re: Issue with Charging skirmishers
It's on page 29, not 46.markm wrote:P.46 Attempts to charge with skirmishers, last para.
"If any of the charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt .........."
I had a situation where my LH were in a position to rear charge enemy (non-skirmishers) already in combat, in my next turn. If my opponent can manage to interpose some skirmishers I must charge these instead. They evade and I must stop 1" from the 'real' target of my charge - the rear of the unit already in combat!
This seems a little odd - without the intervening unit I can charge without even a CMT. With the intervening unit I must halt 1" away!
I suggest this rule is amended so that LH can follow thru in these circumstances as per the bullet point immediately proceeding.
I note that even if the LH had passed a CMT to charge non-skirmishers, if another target evades, they can't contact the non-skirmishers.
So yes, it looks as though a change would be beneficial.
Lawrence Greaves
-
- Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
- Posts: 1376
- Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:23 pm
- Location: the wilderness of mirrors
charging or not charging
Hi ,
if the skirmishers are charged by your LH and choose to evade the charger then must use a measuring stick to indicate the direction of the charge (page 32 upper part )
then the enemy skirmisher must mat make a VMD
the charger now move their charge move ( page 33 half part of the page )adjusting by a VMD " IF " all their charge targets evaded
of course the enemy already in contact cannot evade so you can charge his rear
in all the cases the pursuers have the possibility to choose the direction of the charge , so choose the right direction before the beginning of the charge ;
perhaps a confirmation of my point of view by Simon or Richard ? or contradict ?
thefrenchjester " perhaps in englishversion ?"
if the skirmishers are charged by your LH and choose to evade the charger then must use a measuring stick to indicate the direction of the charge (page 32 upper part )
then the enemy skirmisher must mat make a VMD
the charger now move their charge move ( page 33 half part of the page )adjusting by a VMD " IF " all their charge targets evaded
of course the enemy already in contact cannot evade so you can charge his rear
in all the cases the pursuers have the possibility to choose the direction of the charge , so choose the right direction before the beginning of the charge ;
perhaps a confirmation of my point of view by Simon or Richard ? or contradict ?
thefrenchjester " perhaps in englishversion ?"
-
- Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
- Posts: 1376
- Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 12:23 pm
- Location: the wilderness of mirrors
-
- Colonel - Ju 88A
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
- Location: Former British Empire
In fact the evading unit does not even need to intervene between the skirmishers and the other target. They could be side by side and both targets of the charge from the outset.markm wrote:The point is that the LH could legally charge the rear of the engaged unit if nothing was in the way.
If an intervening unit successfully evades the LH MUST now halt 1" from the engaged unit. Feels totally wrong. They should be able to charge home.
IIRC originally the charging light horse had no option to halt, so were forced to charge (usually suicidally) into the front of non-skirmishers if an intervening BG evaded.
This was changed, but the wording used now prevents some legitimate charges.
I think what is needed is:
LF must halt if they would contact unbroken non-skirmishers in the open.
LH must halt if they would contact the front of unbroken non-skirmishers that they have not declared a charge on.
If this is adopted it might be worth clarifying that you can declare a charge on enemy that could not be contacted unless intervening troops evade. The current wording does allow this, but I suspect a lot of people wouldn't think of it. (Or maybe include it as an FAQ on the web site)
Lawrence Greaves
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28288
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
How about this:
Note that, unlike the 6.0 version, this allows them to go into side to side contact with enemy - We avoided this before, but we don’t think it now creates any problems because the side to side rules allow them to evade if the enemy subsequently turn to face them.
Thus LF will have to halt if they would hit unbroken non-skirmishers in open terrain. LH can carry on into the flank or rear of non-skirmishers.“If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a CMT.”
Note that, unlike the 6.0 version, this allows them to go into side to side contact with enemy - We avoided this before, but we don’t think it now creates any problems because the side to side rules allow them to evade if the enemy subsequently turn to face them.
-
- Colonel - Ju 88A
- Posts: 1536
- Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
- Location: Former British Empire
Close, but I don't think it gives the desired result if:rbodleyscott wrote:How about this:
Thus LF will have to halt if they would hit unbroken non-skirmishers in open terrain. LH can carry on into the flank or rear of non-skirmishers.“If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a CMT.”
Note that, unlike the 6.0 version, this allows them to go into side to side contact with enemy - We avoided this before, but we don’t think it now creates any problems because the side to side rules allow them to evade if the enemy subsequently turn to face them.
XXXYYY
AAAAAA
A and X are LH, Y is non-skirmishers.
A passes its CMT to charge non skirmishers and declares charges on X and Y .
X evades.
With your wording, A must halt 1 MU from Y.
Lawrence Greaves
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28288
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Please suggest wording that works.lawrenceg wrote:Close, but I don't think it gives the desired result if:rbodleyscott wrote:How about this:
Thus LF will have to halt if they would hit unbroken non-skirmishers in open terrain. LH can carry on into the flank or rear of non-skirmishers.“If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a CMT.”
Note that, unlike the 6.0 version, this allows them to go into side to side contact with enemy - We avoided this before, but we don’t think it now creates any problems because the side to side rules allow them to evade if the enemy subsequently turn to face them.
XXXYYY
AAAAAA
A and X are LH, Y is non-skirmishers.
A passes its CMT to charge non skirmishers and declares charges on X and Y .
X evades.
With your wording, A must halt 1 MU from Y.
The obvious wording
is somewhat inelegant.“If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a CMT, unless they have already passed a CMT to charge them this phase.”
(I am beginning to wonder whether the original anomaly is worth all this hassle to correct).
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28288
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers who did not pass a CMT to charge non-skirmishers prior to charging, must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge.
Almost as inelegant, but no less comprehensible. I don't think your version is that bad anyway.
Almost as inelegant, but no less comprehensible. I don't think your version is that bad anyway.
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28288
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm
Easy change?
“If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a further CMT.”
Thus in lawrences example the skimisher must ahve charged the non-skimishers and apssed their CMT to do that all all, They therefore hit them.
However if a unit was not charged originally - it is revelaed by and evade - they stop to ponder the new puzzle that is before them
Si
“If any of their charge targets evade, skirmishers must halt their charge 1 MU away from enemy to their front whom they would not normally be allowed to charge without a further CMT.”
Thus in lawrences example the skimisher must ahve charged the non-skimishers and apssed their CMT to do that all all, They therefore hit them.
However if a unit was not charged originally - it is revelaed by and evade - they stop to ponder the new puzzle that is before them
Si
-
- Field of Glory 2
- Posts: 28288
- Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm