Terrain placing
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
Terrain placing
I had a new interpretation of the terrain rules sprung on me at a recent competition in Derby.
I didn't look too hard in the rules at the time because it wasn't that important and my opponent was one of the esteemed authors of FOG who often acts as an umpire. The rule was also confirmed by another well know player who often umpires.
Since then I have looked in the rules and find the words to be ambiguous.
The cheese
My opponent was placing a square piece of terrain.
He threw a 3 to place a piece of terrain and positioned it so that one corner was touching the side table edge on my half of the table.
However the terrain piece was not entirely within my half of the table. Some of the terrain piece was in his half of the table.
Is this legal?
Peter
I didn't look too hard in the rules at the time because it wasn't that important and my opponent was one of the esteemed authors of FOG who often acts as an umpire. The rule was also confirmed by another well know player who often umpires.
Since then I have looked in the rules and find the words to be ambiguous.
The cheese
My opponent was placing a square piece of terrain.
He threw a 3 to place a piece of terrain and positioned it so that one corner was touching the side table edge on my half of the table.
However the terrain piece was not entirely within my half of the table. Some of the terrain piece was in his half of the table.
Is this legal?
Peter
-
- Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
- Posts: 93
- Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:17 am
Pg140 "The placing player rolls to determine where on the table a piece is to be placed"
pg141 "3 = Touching a side edge or coast - opponent's half"
IMO - The dash between Touching a side edge or coast and opponent's half means these are seperate requirements. The argument then is whether opponent's half means entirely within or is just partially acceptable. An implicit entirely within has always been assumed until now.
If it is acceptable to do this for touching the short side the same argument can be applied for a 5 or 6 as here the wording is-
" 5 = Anywhere over 8 MUs from edges - opponent's half"
I would love the rule to be as per Nick interpretation as it means it is a lot easier to fit terrain in and I love terrain.
Since the 2 Britcon umpires are agreed on this interpretation I am looking forward to using it at next years Britcon.
Paul
pg141 "3 = Touching a side edge or coast - opponent's half"
IMO - The dash between Touching a side edge or coast and opponent's half means these are seperate requirements. The argument then is whether opponent's half means entirely within or is just partially acceptable. An implicit entirely within has always been assumed until now.
If it is acceptable to do this for touching the short side the same argument can be applied for a 5 or 6 as here the wording is-
" 5 = Anywhere over 8 MUs from edges - opponent's half"
I would love the rule to be as per Nick interpretation as it means it is a lot easier to fit terrain in and I love terrain.
Since the 2 Britcon umpires are agreed on this interpretation I am looking forward to using it at next years Britcon.
Paul
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3111
- Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
- Location: Fareham, UK
As far as I was aware none of the Authors were at Derby?I didn't look too hard in the rules at the time because it wasn't that important and my opponent was one of the esteemed authors of FOG who often acts as an umpire. The rule was also confirmed by another well know player who often umpires.
I'd previously heard of someone else doing this and raised it with Simon Hall last time I saw him. He was adamant that the terrain should be entirely within your half or the opponent's half but sadly it could be argued that the RAW do allow it - but it's pretty cheesy and no-one I've played has ever tried to do it.
Name and shame please.
Pete
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
petedalby wrote:As far as I was aware none of the Authors were at Derby?I didn't look too hard in the rules at the time because it wasn't that important and my opponent was one of the esteemed authors of FOG who often acts as an umpire. The rule was also confirmed by another well know player who often umpires.
And none of them are esteemed
-
- Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
- Posts: 615
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 1:34 am
- Location: Alaska
The terrain diagram on page 141 shows all initially placed pieces as being wholly on whichever side of the board was rolled. It does show a lake being shifted to cross the centerline. The description for placement is: "4 = Touching a side edge or coast -- own half." To me that says there are 2 requirements. It has to touch the side edge and it has to be in your own half. And "6 = Anyway over 8 MUs from edges -- own half." Seems pretty clear. Place it anywhere over 8 MUs from a side edge and place it on your own half of the table.I think the terrain placing diagram makes it clear that the whole terrain piece need to be in the relevant half of the table, but don't have that with me.
Of course, I've been wrong before.
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3111
- Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
- Location: Fareham, UK
Most people read it - and play it - exactly as you describe.The terrain diagram on page 141 shows all initially placed pieces as being wholly on whichever side of the board was rolled. It does show a lake being shifted to cross the centerline. The description for placement is: "4 = Touching a side edge or coast -- own half." To me that says there are 2 requirements. It has to touch the side edge and it has to be in your own half. And "6 = Anyway over 8 MUs from edges -- own half." Seems pretty clear. Place it anywhere over 8 MUs from a side edge and place it on your own half of the table.
Of course, I've been wrong before.
Pete
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
Gaukroger and Hamilton are opening a chain of cheese emporia. They have an opening for a bazuki player. Hope this suggestion will get me the job.
A 5 or 6 is anywhere more than 8MU from your opponents/own edges, therefore you can put the piece anywhere in the other half of the table more than 8MU from the precluded edges.
Found one
A 5 or 6 is anywhere more than 8MU from your opponents/own edges, therefore you can put the piece anywhere in the other half of the table more than 8MU from the precluded edges.
Found one
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
grahambriggs wrote:I think the terrain placing diagram makes it clear that the whole terrain piece need to be in the relevant half of the table, but don't have that with me.
I take it that would be the one on page 146, a mere 5 pages away from the part of the rules it refers to?
It even has the terrain numbered to reference it to the 6 placement dice rolls on page 141. I don't think I'd ever really noticed that before, probably because it is so far away from the rules in question


Makes it pretty clear what I was claiming was wrong. It is interesting that I've done it a fw times before and nobody had questioned it.
Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
-
- Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
- Posts: 3070
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am
-
- Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
- Posts: 8835
- Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
- Location: Manchester
They are, at least, just as bad, but I had hoped Nik may have brought some sense. Obviously not.grahambriggs wrote:Well, to be fair, consider what playing the other authors is like. I think you might find they're far worsephilqw78 wrote:Doesn't bode wellNik 'I'm now on the author team' Gaukroger wrote:clear what I was claiming was wrong. It is interesting that I've done it a fw times before
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
-
- Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
- Posts: 32
- Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:00 pm