Interception charge

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Interception charge

Post by zoltan »

Image

A declares a charge on C.
D declares an intercept charge as A will pass through D's 2 MU ZOI.
Does D charge into B and then step forward up to the 2 MU line, with A then charging into D?
Or does D stop a gnat's todger short of B (not permitted to make contact) with no step forward, resulting in A charging home into C?
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Looks to me as though D cannot intercept as B is preventing D from crossing the charge path of A and D cannot contact B in an intercept. therefore, D does not move at all.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Post by ravenflight »

nikgaukroger wrote:Looks to me as though D cannot intercept as B is preventing D from crossing the charge path of A and D cannot contact B in an intercept. therefore, D does not move at all.
Agreed.
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

Surely the fact that A will move through D's ZOI gives D the option to 'declare' an intercept charge, and move as far forward as possible before being halted by B's presence?

Or is declaring an intercept charge contingent upon the declarer actually being able to reach a position that is in the path of the charger?
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

The latter.

I don't think the rules explicitly state this, however, IMO it is clearly implicit - if you don't actually get into the path of the charge you haven't intercepted :P
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Post by ravenflight »

nikgaukroger wrote:The latter.

I don't think the rules explicitly state this, however, IMO it is clearly implicit - if you don't actually get into the path of the charge you haven't intercepted :P
Another way of looking at this is that you CANNOT intercept charge into someone's flank or rear, as it doesn't pass through their line of charge. So you could be 1 mm directly behind someone declaring a charge and you can't intercept them. You'd have to wait until your next bound to charge them.
elysiumsolutions@fsmail.n
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 10:17 am

Post by elysiumsolutions@fsmail.n »

Another way of looking at this is that you CANNOT intercept charge into someone's flank or rear, as it doesn't pass through their line of charge. So you could be 1 mm directly behind someone declaring a charge and you can't intercept them. You'd have to wait until your next bound to charge them.
You can intercept into someones flank or rear. There are two possible mechanisms for an intercept charge on page 63. One is them charging through your ZOI the other is if you start in a position to charge the flank or rear of a BG and it declares a charge.

Paul
ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Post by ravenflight »

elysiumsolutions@fsmail.n wrote:
Another way of looking at this is that you CANNOT intercept charge into someone's flank or rear, as it doesn't pass through their line of charge. So you could be 1 mm directly behind someone declaring a charge and you can't intercept them. You'd have to wait until your next bound to charge them.
You can intercept into someones flank or rear. There are two possible mechanisms for an intercept charge on page 63. One is them charging through your ZOI the other is if you start in a position to charge the flank or rear of a BG and it declares a charge.

Paul
Yes, I was confused. I was thinking (and have been for some time) that this is the same as the scenario where you can't intercept into a discovered flank - I.e. When your intercept would be on the chargers flank or rear when the charger had completed their charge
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3073
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

nikgaukroger wrote:The latter.

I don't think the rules explicitly state this, however, IMO it is clearly implicit - if you don't actually get into the path of the charge you haven't intercepted :P
They do state it. The two options are that an intercepiton must cross the path of the chargers or hit their flank/rear. This does neither, so can't intercept.
Lycanthropic
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 186
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:48 pm

Post by Lycanthropic »

Do not pass Go. Do not collect $200.
It also looks like a nice flank charge if B wasn't in the way!
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

This is very clear in the rules. I don't understand the debate.


An intercepting battle group cannot itself be intercepted
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

Image
OK, just to put this one to bed I've tweaked the picture.

A declares a charge on C.

Although A will pass through D's ZOI, D is NOT permitted to declare an interception charge because B is in the way.
- D is NOT permitted to charge into B and then step forward up to the 2MU limit of its ZOI.
- D is NOT permitted to charge forward and stop a gnat's todger short of B as that would mean D has NOT met the interception criteria of 'crossing the path' of A
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

zoltan wrote: D is NOT permitted to charge forward and stop a gnat's todger short of B as that would mean D has NOT met the interception criteria of 'crossing the path' of A
Without question. There is no intercept.
iversonjm
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Major - 8.8 cm FlaK 36
Posts: 954
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 2:47 pm

Post by iversonjm »

hazelbark wrote:This is very clear in the rules. I don't understand the debate.


It doesn't really look like anyone is debating.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Definitely no intercept opportunity.
Pete
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”