Impact foot charging

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
wildone
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 12:19 pm

Impact foot charging

Post by wildone »

in a game today my opponent charged a couple of BGs into my defensive spear. in the movement phase he advanced a BG of undrilled HF impact foot/swordsmen into an overlap position. This brouht them into charge range of another BG of Defensive spear. In his next bound was he required to test not to charge the new in range BG or did the fact that the impact foot were fighting as an overlap mean there was no requirement to test?

We couldn't agree nor could the bystanders and since it was a learning game for my opponent i agreed they didn't have to test.

Answers please :D

regards
Brent
Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Robert241167 »

Hi Brent

My feeling is that it does not match any of the circumstances on page 58 which stop it having to take the CMT to prevent charging so I think it will have to take the CMT.

Rob
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

Yes, if they are only in contact as an overlap they would have to test if you did not wish them to charge the other BG.
Luddite
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 127
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 6:11 pm

Post by Luddite »

Yep. p58 lists the circumstances where you don't have to test.

Fighting as an overlap isn't one of them so a test is required.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”