charging

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

can the phalanx drop into column

Poll ended at Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:54 am

Yes
23
85%
No
4
15%
 
Total votes: 27

nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Petefloro wrote:
I remain not entirely convinced
.

Same with me.

In the middle of the right hand column p.58:

" Otherwise if shock troops would normally be required to test to prevent them from charging with out orders,the following rules apply if they could not contact the enemy with out passing through friends,
even by wheeling and/or dropping bases back".

for me that implies that they do drop bases back to make contact in the charge, but if they can't get in by contracting a base width they burst through the friendly BG.

That is telling you when the following bullet points apply, and not what happens in the charge.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
Petefloro
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: Kent

Post by Petefloro »

That is telling you when the following bullet points apply, and not what happens in the charge.
Yes, I agree with you.

But I interpret the line "even by wheeling and/or dropping bases back" in the preceding paragraph, along with the third bullet point, to mean if the BG charging without orders can't wheel or drop back a base width to avoid friends,it must burst through them.


I'm not being pedantic or argumentative but that's the way I've played it for the past couple of years or so

Is that wrong then?

A line something like:

" BGs charging without orders and fail the CMT not to charge can not wheel or drop back bases to avoid bursting through friendly BGs" would be much more clear.

But there isn't one like that in the rules as far as I know.
:shock:
:?
batesmotel
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 3614
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:52 pm

Post by batesmotel »

nikgaukroger wrote:
Petefloro wrote:
I remain not entirely convinced
.

Same with me.

In the middle of the right hand column p.58:

" Otherwise if shock troops would normally be required to test to prevent them from charging with out orders,the following rules apply if they could not contact the enemy with out passing through friends,
even by wheeling and/or dropping bases back".

for me that implies that they do drop bases back to make contact in the charge, but if they can't get in by contracting a base width they burst through the friendly BG.

That is telling you when the following bullet points apply, and not what happens in the charge.

As far as I can discern, the only circumstances in which troops charging without orders will burst through friends is when the last bullet on page 58 applies, e.g. when they cannot make contact by dropping back bases or wheeling. In all other circumstances troops charging without orders will not burst through friends. Do you see any indication of any other circumstances where they will burst through friends indicated in the rules for charging without orders?

Chris
....where life is beautiful all the time
Petefloro
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: Kent

Post by Petefloro »

Do you see any indication of any other circumstances where they will burst through friends indicated in the rules for charging without orders?
I can't see any.Unless I've missed something.
As far as I can discern, the only circumstances in which troops charging without orders will burst through friends is when the last bullet on page 58 applies, e.g. when they cannot make contact by dropping back bases or wheeling.
And IMHO, you're right :)


Thanks the replies. Sorry for slow responses - keep losing my connection intermittently for some reason :(
Polkovnik
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 10:16 pm

Post by Polkovnik »

Surely they wouldn't burst through the friendly unit anyway because the friends are already in melee. So if they were completely behind the skirmishers they would not have to test. But as they can charge by dropping a base, if they fail their test they must drop a base and charge.
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28320
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

petedalby wrote:
voluntary charge must drop back.
FWIW I agree.

I must disagree with Ethan's post though - sorry Ethan. If the pike didn't choose to charge - and then failed it's CMT to initiate a charge without orders - it cannot choose to drop back. See Page 58 - If it fails, it must burst through the friends.
On the contrary, as they can avoid bursting through the friends by dropping back a file, they do so.
Otherwise, if shock troops would normally be required to test to prevent them from charging without orders, the following rules apply if they could not contact the enemy without passing through friends, even by wheeling and/or dropping back bases:
 They do not test (and will not charge) if the friends are shock troops or already in melee.
 They do not test (and will not charge) if all the enemy in reach are skirmishers.
 Otherwise the battle group must take a CMT as normal. If it fails, it must burst through the friends. (Note that a player cannot choose to allow his shock troops to burst through in this way, they can only do so if they fail their CMT and charge without orders).

The bullets (including the burst through bullet) are only triggered at all if they cannot contact the enemy without passing through friends, even by wheeling and/or dropping back bases.

In this case they can contact the enemy without passing through friends by wheeling and dropping back bases, so none of the bullets apply. Hence they don't burst through.
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

rbodleyscott wrote:The bullets (including the burst through bullet) are only triggered at all if they cannot contact the enemy without passing through friends, even by wheeling and/or dropping back bases.

In this case they can contact the enemy without passing through friends by wheeling and dropping back bases, so none of the bullets apply. Hence they don't burst through.
Well, a number of us seem to have read the rulebook rather sloppily! :(

Looks like Leslie and Ethan are right - the definitive view in the example given is that in both cases whether a declared charge, or due to a failed CMT, the pike MUST drop back to avoid interpenetrating the friendly LF.
Petefloro
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: Kent

Post by Petefloro »

Looks like Leslie and Ethan are right
erm, and myself as well :roll:

or did I just imagine I posted on here :wink:
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

Petefloro wrote:
Looks like Leslie and Ethan are right
erm, and myself as well :roll:

or did I just imagine I posted on here :wink:
You are a sensitive fellow! :wink:
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Thanks for clearing that up Richard - and my apologies to Ethan for doubting you!
Pete
LeslieMitchell
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:29 am

Post by LeslieMitchell »

Thanks for the answers make my choices clearer

Leslie
ethan
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:40 pm

Post by ethan »

petedalby wrote:Thanks for clearing that up Richard - and my apologies to Ethan for doubting you!
Just shows you can be right once in a while guessing what the rules say without a rules book at hand...
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

ethan wrote:Just shows you can be right once in a while guessing what the rules say without a rules book at hand...
An infinite number of Ethans with an infinite number of guesses.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”