charging

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

can the phalanx drop into column

Poll ended at Wed Jun 15, 2011 11:54 am

Yes
23
85%
No
4
15%
 
Total votes: 27

LeslieMitchell
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:29 am

charging

Post by LeslieMitchell »

Image

The question is can the phalanx declare a charge against the spear men, but to get bases into combat the Phalanx will need to drop into a column to pass friendly troops (the archers, who are not in combat BTW)?

I believe they can drop into a column and charge
Last edited by LeslieMitchell on Sun May 22, 2011 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

They can and must test not to if they don't
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
babyshark
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 1336
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 6:59 pm
Location: Government; and I'm here to help.

Post by babyshark »

And if the Phalanx decides not to charge, and fails its CMT (thus charging anyway), it does not drop bases back but instead bursts through the LF.

Marc
LeslieMitchell
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:29 am

Post by LeslieMitchell »

babyshark wrote:And if the Phalanx decides not to charge, and fails its CMT (thus charging anyway), it does not drop bases back but instead bursts through the LF.

Marc
Agreed, but the question is can it choose to charge, by dropping to a column
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Unless I'm really losing it - always a possibility - a charging BG can always drop a file back to avoid friends and this is clearly stated in the rules. Somewhat puzzeled as to how the question arises :?
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
LeslieMitchell
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:29 am

Post by LeslieMitchell »

nikgaukroger wrote:Unless I'm really losing it - always a possibility - a charging BG can always drop a file back to avoid friends and this is clearly stated in the rules. Somewhat puzzled as to how the question arises :?
Thanks for that. my opponent believe that I must burst though my LF as you can not reduce the number of base thats make contract, but I believed I should be drop into a column when I charged to avoid friends.
ethan
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:40 pm

Post by ethan »

I am not sure the phalanx need interpenetrate the LF if forced to charge by failing a CMT. I believe if it can drop back when voluntarily charging it can also do so when forced to charge.
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

Being Leslies opponent I admit I have lost the the two rule points, but i did win the battle.... :)
LeslieMitchell
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 240
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:29 am

Post by LeslieMitchell »

david53 wrote:Being Leslie's opponent I admit I have lost the the two rule points, but i did win the battle.... :)
only because my left flank unit of pike double dropped, when a general died which you kill with a double six and your Dailami where within charge range. :P
Last edited by LeslieMitchell on Thu May 19, 2011 8:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

ethan wrote:I am not sure the phalanx need interpenetrate the LF if forced to charge by failing a CMT. I believe if it can drop back when voluntarily charging it can also do so when forced to charge.
Can we get a definitive statement on this please?

Is it:

A. In both cases (a voluntarily declared charge and a failed CMT not to charge) the charging BG can opt to/must drop back one file to avoid 'bursting through' the LF, or

B. The charging BG can only opt to drop back one file in a declared charge. In a failed CMT it is not permitted to drop back and must burst through the LF.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

THe definiative statement is:

voluntary charge must drop back.

8)
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

voluntary charge must drop back.
FWIW I agree.

I must disagree with Ethan's post though - sorry Ethan. If the pike didn't choose to charge - and then failed it's CMT to initiate a charge without orders - it cannot choose to drop back. See Page 58 - If it fails, it must burst through the friends.
Pete
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

petedalby wrote:
voluntary charge must drop back.
FWIW I agree.

I must disagree with Ethan's post though - sorry Ethan. If the pike didn't choose to charge - and then failed it's CMT to initiate a charge without orders - it cannot choose to drop back. See Page 58 - If it fails, it must burst through the friends.

I believe Pete is correct.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3073
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

The pike can charge and, if they choose to do so must drop into a column as no interpenetrations are allowed while charging.

If they test no to charge and fail they will instead burst through their friends, who'll drop a cohesion level as " Otherwise the battle group must take a CMT as normal. If it fails, it must burst through the friends. (Note that a player cannot choose to allow his shock troops to burst through in this way, they can only do so if they fail their CMT and charge without orders)."
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

grahambriggs wrote:The pike can charge and, if they choose to do so must drop into a column as no interpenetrations are allowed while charging.

If they test no to charge and fail they will instead burst through their friends, who'll drop a cohesion level as " Otherwise the battle group must take a CMT as normal. If it fails, it must burst through the friends. (Note that a player cannot choose to allow his shock troops to burst through in this way, they can only do so if they fail their CMT and charge without orders)."
OK, so the definitive statement is that things are completely different depending on whether it is a voluntarily declared charge or a failed CMT not to charge:

1. voluntarily declared charge - COMPULSORY to drop back as you can't 'voluntarily' charge through your friends
2. failed CMT - NOT permitted to drop back and COMPULSORY to burst through your friends
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

zoltan wrote:
grahambriggs wrote:The pike can charge and, if they choose to do so must drop into a column as no interpenetrations are allowed while charging.

If they test no to charge and fail they will instead burst through their friends, who'll drop a cohesion level as " Otherwise the battle group must take a CMT as normal. If it fails, it must burst through the friends. (Note that a player cannot choose to allow his shock troops to burst through in this way, they can only do so if they fail their CMT and charge without orders)."
OK, so the definitive statement is that things are completely different depending on whether it is a voluntarily declared charge or a failed CMT not to charge:

1. voluntarily declared charge - COMPULSORY to drop back as you can't 'voluntarily' charge through your friends
2. failed CMT - NOT permitted to drop back and COMPULSORY to burst through your friends
Yup, that is what the rules say. It is IMO pretty clear as well.
DrQuahog
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:02 pm

Post by DrQuahog »

I remain not entirely convinced.
True, they have to charge if they test and fail, and true they have to burst through friends if necessary to complete the charge.
I don't see anything in the wording that says they are not permitted to contract if they can still complete the charge.
That would seem to be one that could be argued both ways.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3115
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

I remain not entirely convinced.
Okay - but please re-check P58 - the last bullet? The wording is 'it must burst through' - so by allowing a contraction in a compulsory charge surely you would contravene this requirement?
Pete
Petefloro
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: Kent

Post by Petefloro »

I remain not entirely convinced
.

Same with me.

In the middle of the right hand column p.58:

" Otherwise if shock troops would normally be required to test to prevent them from charging with out orders,the following rules apply if they could not contact the enemy with out passing through friends,
even by wheeling and/or dropping bases back".

for me that implies that they do drop bases back to make contact in the charge, but if they can't get in by contracting a base width they burst through the friendly BG.

I can't see where the rules distinguish between a voluntary and a compulsory charge in this case.
Petefloro
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:35 pm
Location: Kent

Post by Petefloro »

The wording is 'it must burst through' - so by allowing a contraction in a compulsory charge surely you would contravene this requirement?
don't that mean if they can't drop back a base width though? Like it refers to in the previous paragraph?
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”