Commander and combat

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
NZsam03
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 4:18 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Commander and combat

Post by NZsam03 »

In the situation below, two battlegroups in the same army are in combat with enemy battle groups. The commander behind them is in contact with both, but not fighting in eithers front rank

Image

Is the commander able to add his +1 for being a commander in contact to both BG's cohension tests for losing in combat?
If not when does he have to declare which BG he is "with?"
Robert241167
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Elite Panther D
Posts: 1368
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:03 pm
Location: Leeds

Post by Robert241167 »

I would say the commander is not with either BG as he is not in full base edge contact with either but only partial base edge contact with both.

This simplifies things so that an opponent cannot decide which the commander should be with depending on how well the combats go, i.e. trying to hedge his bets.

Rob
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Post by ShrubMiK »

See last 2 paras on p28.
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

A commander cannot be with more than 1 BG.
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

Whether or not a Commander is 'with' a BG is signified by the Commander's base being lined up with that BG. You do not have to 'declare' that a Commander is 'with' the BG.

You only 'declare' if the Commander is fighting in the front rank of a BG he is with.

In the example given, the Commander is not with either of the BGs. From this position neither BG gets to add +1 in a cohesion test.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”