dave_r wrote:It doesn't count as a rear charge - therefore you move to the front don't you? Just like if you hit a BG in the flank that isn't a flank charge - you get moved to the front of the file you hit?
It's certainly a muddy section of the rules, and could do with clarification.
As I see it:
- the chargers think it's a rear charge "For a charge to qualify as a rear charge, the first part of the enemy battle group contacted must be the rear edge of one of its bases."
- but the crossbows don't treat it as such "troops attacked across fortifications they are defending (see the Special Features section) never count as being charged in flank or rear."
So a bit contradictory. But I suspect that means - do your charge as if it were a rear charge but it won't be at ++ poa and the XB won't disrupt.
Once you hit them, you don't need to swing round to the front in Movement - that's only for fudgy flank charges: "A charge which does not qualify as a flank or rear charge can still contact the flank edge of an enemy base, provided that it was not already in melee to its front. Such a charge does not count as a flank or rear charge, and is treated as a normal charge on the enemy front. In the manoeuvre phase the chargers must, if possible, align with the enemy front"
And also, in the PD section "The front edge of the PD is treated as the front edge of the battle group" so you stay fighting them.
Amusingly, that bit also says "including for measuring shooting ranges". So once the XB had turned round you could have had fun arguing they need to maesure shooting from the rear edge of the BG
Bit broken, isn't it?