intercept charge

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

intercept charge

Post by hazelbark »

I feel like we discussed this one before but...


_EE

1122

every one is facing down. E is enemy in intercept range of two BGs. Both BGs are exactly same distance away and both parallel.

Since intercept charges only contact the charging unit, If "1" charges and "2" does not, is "E" allowed to intercept as if it contacts "1" it also contacts "2"

I feel there ought to be away to allow the intercept, but I am not certain the rules literally allow it.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

An intercept that cancels a charge is allowed to step forwards, but a flank or rear intercept can only initially contact the BG whose charge it cancelled. Seems odd.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
ShrubMiK
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
1st Lieutenant - 15 cm sFH 18
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 8:37 am

Post by ShrubMiK »

If BG 2 was a mm closer to BG E, would you have a problem with the situation? i.e. the presence of second BG arguably legitimately shields the chargers from being intercepted, albeit it must worry about taking appropriate steps to avoid being charged in the rear itself next turn.

Thus I would say - don't get too hung up over it being odd that the same would apply on a literal reading of the rules when the 2 BGs are exactly* the same distance from the intercepters. There is going to have to be a line drawn somewhere between a situation where intercept is possible, and a situation where it is not.

* which also begs a question - what resolution are we measuring down to?
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: intercept charge

Post by grahambriggs »

hazelbark wrote:I feel like we discussed this one before but...


_EE

1122

every one is facing down. E is enemy in intercept range of two BGs. Both BGs are exactly same distance away and both parallel.

Since intercept charges only contact the charging unit, If "1" charges and "2" does not, is "E" allowed to intercept as if it contacts "1" it also contacts "2"

I feel there ought to be away to allow the intercept, but I am not certain the rules literally allow it.
But the intercept charge does not contact either. It crosses the path of 1, then stops in a line. Then 1 does it's charge move, and hits EE.

So no, it doesn't step forward into 2.
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

But the intercept charge does not contact either. It crosses the path of 1, then stops in a line.
That's in a normal intercept. The question here relates to where the interceptor is to the rear of the charger, when they do move into contact before the charger moves.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

kevinj wrote:
But the intercept charge does not contact either. It crosses the path of 1, then stops in a line.
That's in a normal intercept. The question here relates to where the interceptor is to the rear of the charger, when they do move into contact before the charger moves.
Of course - I read too quickly. Intercepting into the flank/rear is covered in the FAQ: "Where an interception catches a BG in the flank or rear this is a different situation. The chargers’ move is cancelled and effectively the interceptors charge them instead. In this case it is the interceptors that are making contact so they do step forward."
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

grahambriggs wrote:Of course - I read too quickly. Intercepting into the flank/rear is covered in the FAQ: "Where an interception catches a BG in the flank or rear this is a different situation. The chargers’ move is cancelled and effectively the interceptors charge them instead. In this case it is the interceptors that are making contact so they do step forward."
But they cannot contact the other BG unless stepping forward into it, and they hit the other BG before stepping forward
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

Image

Time for a better picture. Situation 1 above is the one covered by the FAQ. 1 tries to charge, A intercepts, stepping forward into 2. A supplementary question here, if 2 is of a type allowed to do so, can it evade?

Situation 2 is the question that Dan asked originally. If 1 charges, can A intercept as it will simultaneously hit 2?
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Personally I'd allow the intercept to hit both. Otherwise you're allowing a tiny point of detail to defeat the clear objective of the rules.
Pete
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

philqw78 wrote:
grahambriggs wrote:Of course - I read too quickly. Intercepting into the flank/rear is covered in the FAQ: "Where an interception catches a BG in the flank or rear this is a different situation. The chargers’ move is cancelled and effectively the interceptors charge them instead. In this case it is the interceptors that are making contact so they do step forward."
But they cannot contact the other BG unless stepping forward into it, and they hit the other BG before stepping forward
Why not? It says effectively they are charging, which is why the step forward is allowed. If they are charging, they'd hit anything else in their path.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

grahambriggs wrote:
philqw78 wrote:
grahambriggs wrote:Of course - I read too quickly. Intercepting into the flank/rear is covered in the FAQ: "Where an interception catches a BG in the flank or rear this is a different situation. The chargers’ move is cancelled and effectively the interceptors charge them instead. In this case it is the interceptors that are making contact so they do step forward."
But they cannot contact the other BG unless stepping forward into it, and they hit the other BG before stepping forward
Why not? It says effectively they are charging, which is why the step forward is allowed. If they are charging, they'd hit anything else in their path.
But if there is something else in the path of an intercepting BG the intercept is not allowed. Even if a flank or rear intercept.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

philqw78 wrote:
grahambriggs wrote:
philqw78 wrote:But they cannot contact the other BG unless stepping forward into it, and they hit the other BG before stepping forward
Why not? It says effectively they are charging, which is why the step forward is allowed. If they are charging, they'd hit anything else in their path.
But if there is something else in the path of an intercepting BG the intercept is not allowed. Even if a flank or rear intercept.
I can't find that in the rules. The ZOI can't go into disordering terrain. Enemy BG can't be hidden by terrain. Interceptor goes straight forward with no shifts, formation changes or interpenetrations. It's these last bits that usually mean other things in your path can block and interception. But none of them apply here?
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

petedalby wrote:Personally I'd allow the intercept to hit both. Otherwise you're allowing a tiny point of detail to defeat the clear objective of the rules.
That was my feeling. The game was decided before the units could even get to the impact phase. But I am not sure where the rules literally fall.

Also take situation 2 and nudge over or make it one column so a single base is the only thing in question so there is no step forward solution.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Always nice to know someone agrees with me Dan. Fortunately these kind of issues don't come up that often - but when they do I think you have to go with commonsense (which opens a whole new debate) and ignore a previously unconsidered wrinkle in the rules which someone is trying to exploit to avoid getting caned.
Pete
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

P63 last para says one option for an intercept charge is to contact the rear of an enemy BG; "...despite the fact that it happens in the enemy's turn, is treated as a normal flank/rear charge".

Thus, because BG A would be permitted to step forward if it declared a "normal rear charge" in it's own turn, it can similarly step forward during an intercept charge in the enemy's turn.

Similarly, because BG 1 or 2 (if capable) would be permitted to evade from a "normal rear charge" in A's turn, they can also chose to evade from A's rear interception charge.
aventine
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:20 am

Post by aventine »

Zoltan

They cannot evade from an intercept. Once they declare a charge that option is removed.

I would argue that the interceptors can only make contact in the rear or flank if their path is unobstructed. In this case their path is obstructed(by the presence of the second nonn charging BG) and therefore they cannot intercept.

Keith
expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

the nerf defense

Post by expendablecinc »

aventine wrote:Zoltan

They cannot evade from an intercept. Once they declare a charge that option is removed.

I would argue that the interceptors can only make contact in the rear or flank if their path is unobstructed. In this case their path is obstructed(by the presence of the second nonn charging BG) and therefore they cannot intercept.

Keith
if someone wants to whack you in the head with a nerf bat and I stand next to you are still going to get hit as I am not obstructing the bat wielder. if I stand in front of you and I am in the way of the path of the bat you are safe.
Anthony
NeoAssyrian, Spartan, Scythian, Later Seleucid, Parthian, Thematic Byzantine, Latin Greek, Later Hungarian
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

aventine wrote:Zoltan

They cannot evade from an intercept. Once they declare a charge that option is removed.

I would argue that the interceptors can only make contact in the rear or flank if their path is unobstructed. In this case their path is obstructed(by the presence of the second nonn charging BG) and therefore they cannot intercept.

Keith
I certainly meant that where BG 1 had declatred a charge and was being intercepted to its rear BG 2 has full rights to evade (if capable) from the rear intercept charge on BG1.

My own view is that even a charging unit that is intercepted from the rear/flank should be able to evade (if capable). I think its ludicrous that LH/LF that declares a charge, and is intercept charged from the rear, would stand still and get arse whipped. Ludicrous!
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

Actually I am not certain Zoltan under the scenario you lay out the BG2 could evade. I think the FAQ is explict that a unit hit by an intercept cannot evade. Although i think its intent is to mention skirmishers who are charging, the language is broader. I think.
kevinj
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
Location: Derbyshire, UK

Post by kevinj »

I don't think the FAQ really covers this situation. In a "normal" intercept, where the interceptors have moved into the chargers' path, that's fine, the chargers are the ones initiating contact and an evade would not be appropriate. But where a Flank or Rear intercept occurs, the original charge has been cancelled and these BGs are now being charged, even though it's out of sequence. In the example I think that it is quite reasonable for BG2 to be able to evade as they are not part of the original charge anyway. Given that BG1's charge has been cancelled, I agree with Zoltan's logic, it seems wrong that they cannot then respond accordingly.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”