Lancers in overlap

General discussion forum for anything related to Field of Glory Ancients & Medieval.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
teboj17
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: Clinton, CT USA

Lancers in overlap

Post by teboj17 »

So this came up in a game recently. A unit of knights with lances was fighting in an overlap to a foot unit that was fighting another foot unit. In front of the knights about 1 inch away I had a unit of medium foot offensive spear. So the Knights did not have to test to charge my medium foot as they were fighting in overlap. Now since I was within 2" I was pinned and basically I had to just sit there until the other combat was over. If I had charged the knights (who were already fighting as an overlap) they would have gotten their lance bonus as well as their mounted vs medium foot, as well as my unit not being able to use their offensive spear as i was charging lancers.
So this situation seemed like an unfair advantage to Lance armed Knights. It seems since they have all these advantages that they should at least either have to test not to charge or at least do not receive their lance bonus since they are already fighting and which they would not gain their momentum and speed, which is where a lance gets its advantage from.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

The lancers do have to test not to charge as they are only in overlap.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Post by hazelbark »

Well the authors have remarked the scale of the bases is not a precise representation of troops being at the front of the base at all times. Also it doesn't take very long for a horse to be moving at a speed where the lance is going to be able to skewer a lot.

Your proximity strike me as understandable. There's a big fight going on real close we can turn and run or we an loiter about and see if we want to get involved.

If the combat went on long enough you could turn march away from the RA and then march out.

Similarly if its only 1 base you would "probably" survive the impact with no worse than a disorder and then with overlap still ahve 3 dice to 2.
teboj17
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: Clinton, CT USA

Post by teboj17 »

I did look in the rulebook to see if they had to charge or not but could not find where it said they still had to.
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

From the rules
"MOVING FROM AN OVERLAP POSITION
A battle group which fought in melee in a previous turn as an overlap only, can choose to charge a different enemy or evade in the impact phase, move normally in the manoeuvre phase, or continue to fight against its existing opponents in the next melee phase."
There is no rule precluding shock troops from the test not to charge. Unfortunately, for a lot of rules, if there isn't a rule against it it happens.

I'm sure its stated elsewhere but am sat at work at the moment so reading rules is not good.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28320
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

philqw78 wrote:I'm sure its stated elsewhere but am sat at work at the moment so reading rules is not good.
But you have started taking them into work. Sad, sad. :wink:
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

rbodleyscott wrote:
philqw78 wrote:I'm sure its stated elsewhere but am sat at work at the moment so reading rules is not good.
But you have started taking them into work. Sad, sad. :wink:
No I used the not red bit of version 2 that is in my e-mail. Still sad as I should have deleted it as it is already way out of date.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
FOGwargames
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:41 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Post by FOGwargames »

Phil, I thought you were going to post about the issue we had on Monday? The issue whereby the priority of base removal in close combat meant that one battle group ceased to be in combat after winning etc.
cheers
pete
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8836
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

Here we go. I haven't had chance to upload the photo yet so

:D :D
:D :D :? :? :? 8) 8) 8) 8)
_.. :oops: :oops: :oops: :) :) :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

All are knights
:? is disrupted and has lost a base
:oops: has just lost a base

:D does 4 hits to :oops: _ :? does three hits to :oops:
:oops: does no hits to :D and three hits to :? _ :) does 2 hits to :?

Both :? and :oops: lose a base

We figured out that :oops: loses the base in front of :D and :? must lose a base in front of :oops:

This means that :D now no longer overlaps :oops: as :? lost a base and closed up. This seems a bit unfair
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

philqw78 wrote:Here we go. I haven't had chance to upload the photo yet so

:D :D
:D :D :? :? :? 8) 8) 8) 8)
_.. :oops: :oops: :oops: :) :) :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:

All are knights
:? is disrupted and has lost a base
:oops: has just lost a base

:D does 4 hits to :oops: _ :? does three hits to :oops:
:oops: does no hits to :D and three hits to :? _ :) does 2 hits to :?

Both :? and :oops: lose a base

We figured out that :oops: loses the base in front of :D and :? must lose a base in front of :oops:

This means that :D now no longer overlaps :oops: as :? lost a base and closed up. This seems a bit unfair
But, Phil,
Surely you followed the requirements laid out in the base removal section that prohibit removing a base that would cause a BG to lose contact with its close combat opponents. Since :oops: must lose the base facing :D, and :? must lose a base facing :oops: the correct base to lose would be the center base of :? with the base to the right sliding over to maintain contiguity. In this way all of the BGs originally involved in the melee remain in contact, at least as overlaps.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
FOGwargames
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:41 am
Location: Northampton, England
Contact:

Post by FOGwargames »

Ok. So the top middle BG loses the centre base and the one to its left slides over. That means it has lost contact with the centre bottom BG, but at least all BGs remain in some contact and the individual bases of the BGs remain adjacent to each other.
Post Reply

Return to “Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion”