A BG breaks in the impact phase and is pursued. The pursuers contact a fresh enemy unit and are able to step forward into the pursued unit. Do they step forward ?
If they contacted the pursued unit first, would they step forward into a fresh enemy unit if they were able ?
If the pusruit was in the JAP phase rather than the impact phase would this make a difference as to whether or not they could step forward ?
Stepping forward in pursuit
Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design
-
- Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
- Posts: 26
- Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:05 pm
-
- Field Marshal - Me 410A
- Posts: 5286
- Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am
After looking it up, the rules state that if pursuers contact fresh enemy they treat it as a charge so I guess a step forward would occur.
I think it would also apply to contacting the routers first since the step forward rules state you must step forward if you can get more bases into contact.
Thing to remember is when the impact from a pursuit occurs. From your original post it occurred in the impact phase so would be resolved immediately.
If it occurs in any other phase it is resolved in the next impact phase. Contacting enemy in the JAP still counts as a charge and will be resolved in the next impact phase, regardless of whose turn it was when the pursuit into fresh enemy happened.
I think it would also apply to contacting the routers first since the step forward rules state you must step forward if you can get more bases into contact.
Thing to remember is when the impact from a pursuit occurs. From your original post it occurred in the impact phase so would be resolved immediately.
If it occurs in any other phase it is resolved in the next impact phase. Contacting enemy in the JAP still counts as a charge and will be resolved in the next impact phase, regardless of whose turn it was when the pursuit into fresh enemy happened.
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
deadtorius wrote:After looking it up, the rules state that if pursuers contact fresh enemy they treat it as a charge so I guess a step forward would occur.
I think it would also apply to contacting the routers first since the step forward rules state you must step forward if you can get more bases into contact.
Thing to remember is when the impact from a pursuit occurs. From your original post it occurred in the impact phase so would be resolved immediately.
If it occurs in any other phase it is resolved in the next impact phase. Contacting enemy in the JAP still counts as a charge and will be resolved in the next impact phase, regardless of whose turn it was when the pursuit into fresh enemy happened.
Yup

Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 3608
- Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 8:52 pm
Nik,nikgaukroger wrote:deadtorius wrote:After looking it up, the rules state that if pursuers contact fresh enemy they treat it as a charge so I guess a step forward would occur.
I think it would also apply to contacting the routers first since the step forward rules state you must step forward if you can get more bases into contact.
Thing to remember is when the impact from a pursuit occurs. From your original post it occurred in the impact phase so would be resolved immediately.
If it occurs in any other phase it is resolved in the next impact phase. Contacting enemy in the JAP still counts as a charge and will be resolved in the next impact phase, regardless of whose turn it was when the pursuit into fresh enemy happened.
Yup
Do pursuers who contact the routers prior to contacting any fresh enemy still step forward into fresh enemy? The rules state that if pursuers contact fresh enemy then it is treated as a charge, not that pursuits are always treated as charges.
Chris
....where life is beautiful all the time
-
- Field of Glory Moderator
- Posts: 10287
- Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
- Location: LarryWorld
Sorry, missed the bit about routers - early morning post.
The pursuit only counts as a charge, and thus requiring stepping forward, if they meet fresh enemy.
The pursuit only counts as a charge, and thus requiring stepping forward, if they meet fresh enemy.
Nik Gaukroger
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith
nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
-
- Field Marshal - Me 410A
- Posts: 5286
- Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am