Destroyed BGs and commanders

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
imanfasil
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Texas

Destroyed BGs and commanders

Post by imanfasil »

If a BG is destroyed (autobreaks, down to one base, or unable to rout) what happens to an attached commander?

Thanks for any help!
James
zeitoun
Major - Jagdpanther
Major - Jagdpanther
Posts: 1046
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 6:31 pm
Location: poitiers FRANCE

Post by zeitoun »

if he can join a friendly BG in his Mouvement range , he joined it , otherwise he disappeared.
Olivier Marceau
early carthage
later carthage
HWY continental
WOTR Yorkish, Tudor and Lancastre
Perses Sassanids
Francais Ordonnance
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Covered by rules on p49/50 - last bullet point under movement of commanders IIRC.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
imanfasil
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 315
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:18 pm
Location: Texas

Post by imanfasil »

Thanks Nik.. that page mentions what happens if an enemy BG moves near a lone commander. I just didn't know if a destroyed BG left a commander alone or if it was assumed he was captured or killed with the unit as it vanished. It seemed logical to us that he would be destroyed and couldn't find a reference to it in the rules anywhere.
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

imanfasil wrote:Thanks Nik.. that page mentions what happens if an enemy BG moves near a lone commander. I just didn't know if a destroyed BG left a commander alone or if it was assumed he was captured or killed with the unit as it vanished. It seemed logical to us that he would be destroyed and couldn't find a reference to it in the rules anywhere.

BG is removed, commander sits there looking like a lemon, and then those rules kick in - assuming I'm remembering correctly of course :lol:
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

Fundamentally, Nik is not in error.

Melee Phase
1. BG with Commander attached breaks
2. BG attempts to make an initial rout move (Page 100)
3. BG meets obstruction preventing completion of its initial rout move
4. BG is destroyed at the end of the Melee Phase (Page 101) and removed from the table, leaving commander by himself

JAP Phase
1. Move commanders (Page 49, first bullet point under Movement of Commanders)
aventine
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:20 am

Post by aventine »

Zoltan

Yes I follow that line but what if the routing BG does not meet an obstruction and is pursued during the JAP phase when the autobreak only occurs at the very end of the turn. I know that the general could move away before that but if there were no friends close by and he was hoping to out distance the pursuers, that leaves him on his own at the end of the turn and has no move to make sitting in front of pursuers?

Keith
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

aventine wrote:Zoltan

Yes I follow that line but what if the routing BG does not meet an obstruction and is pursued during the JAP phase when the autobreak only occurs at the very end of the turn. I know that the general could move away before that but if there were no friends close by and he was hoping to out distance the pursuers, that leaves him on his own at the end of the turn and has no move to make sitting in front of pursuers?

Keith
Page 101, first bullet:
"A commander who is with a battle group at the moment it breaks must rout with it once. Until the joint action phase he cannot leave the battlegroup...."

So using your example:

Melee Phase
- make intitial rout move
- make intitial pursuit move
- remove router base (Im assuming in your example the pursuers catch the routers)

JAP Phase
- move commander away from routing BG (I can't see any rule that says the commander must move to a friendly BG, so u could move him into the open well away from the pursuers)
- make rout move
- make pursuit move
- remove destroyed BG
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

(I can't see any rule that says the commander must move to a friendly BG, so u could move him into the open well away from the pursuers)
You are spot on - he is free to move where he likes in the JAP.
Pete
timmy1
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England

Post by timmy1 »

Pete, does your enclyclopedic (sp?) knowledge of this section of the rules indicate the frequency with which your battle groups rout with a commander attached? Just asking.
petedalby
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3111
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:23 pm
Location: Fareham, UK

Post by petedalby »

Pete, does your enclyclopedic (sp?) knowledge of this section of the rules indicate the frequency with which your battle groups rout with a commander attached? Just asking.
Not sure about the encyclopaedic knowledge (or spelling) Tim but I find the forum throws up some great questions and I always go back to the rules before I proffer an opinion - and of course I can always get it wrong - and regularly do. And of course this helps me when I do play - which looks like it will be extremely infrequently this year as you know.

A Commander only has to stay with a routing BG during the initial rout move - P101 - first bullet.
Pete
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”