Newbie Question (Again)

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Anleiher
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:54 pm

Newbie Question (Again)

Post by Anleiher »

We had the following situation come up this afternoon:

Unit A (LH x 4) faced enemy Unit B (MF bow x 6). In the exchange of fire Unit A went disordered, then subsequently fragmented. In it's movement turn, it passed a cohesion test, turned 180 degrees moved 3 inches and turned 180 again. The net effect was to increase the distance between Units A & B to 4.5 MU.

Unit B then declared a charge on the fragmented Unit A in its impact phase, even though the distance between them exceeded the normal charge distance for MF, because Unit A was capable of evading.

QUESTION: Is the potential additional 2 MU for charging a target capable of evading limited to shock ?
expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

Re: Newbie Question (Again)

Post by expendablecinc »

Anleiher wrote:We had the following situation come up this afternoon:

Unit A (LH x 4) faced enemy Unit B (MF bow x 6). In the exchange of fire Unit A went disordered, then subsequently fragmented. In it's movement turn, it passed a cohesion test, turned 180 degrees moved 3 inches and turned 180 again. The net effect was to increase the distance between Units A & B to 4.5 MU.

Unit B then declared a charge on the fragmented Unit A in its impact phase, even though the distance between them exceeded the normal charge distance for MF, because Unit A was capable of evading.

QUESTION: Is the potential additional 2 MU for charging a target capable of evading limited to shock ?
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.
Anleiher
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:54 pm

Post by Anleiher »

No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.
expendablecinc
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:55 pm

Post by expendablecinc »

Anleiher wrote:
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.
No book on me so cant comment on the text in the book at this stage. Is the part you are refering to referring to the 2 inch step forwards? If so the step forwards cant coutn regardless if the LH are no other enemy to hit on the way in.
Anleiher
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:54 pm

Post by Anleiher »

Is the part you are refering to referring to the 2 inch step forwards? If so the step forwards cant coutn regardless if the LH are no other enemy to hit on the way in.
No. This section deals with the distance a unit MUST consider it's charge distance, i.e. regular distance + 2 MU, in instances where the target is evade capable; in this case LH.
nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10287
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Post by nikgaukroger »

Anleiher wrote:
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.

That is only for charges that may happen without being declared, and the part you are referring to to is specifically about when shock troops need not test to avoid charging. For a declared charge you must be within normal move range.
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

I am fairly sure this is covered in the errata.

An extra line break found its way into the final rules just before the bit about the +2MU.

A BG can only charge up to its notmal move distance.

Shock troops may be exempt from being forced to charge if a maximum VMD could end up with them in a silly situation. This is to prevent people setting 'traps' for enemy troops where for example they have a BG of light foot infront of a BG of for example elephants and the light foot move to charge reach of the enemy knights while the elephants sit just outside that distance hoping for the knights to roll a high VMD.
lawrenceg
Colonel - Ju 88A
Colonel - Ju 88A
Posts: 1536
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:24 pm
Location: Former British Empire

Post by lawrenceg »

nikgaukroger wrote:
Anleiher wrote:
No. You can only declare charges if within normal movement range (including reductions for terrain etc..). Whether the target is capable of evading or not is irrelevant.


On page 58, right hand column, 2nd paragraph it says to allow 2MU extra. Is this (a) specific to shock and (b) does this apply to UNDECLARED charges only or (c) does is apply to DECLARED charges as well?

Thanks, especially for the quick response.

That is only for charges that may happen without being declared, and the part you are referring to to is specifically about when shock troops need not test to avoid charging. For a declared charge you must be within normal move range.
More specifically:

Undeclared charges can only happen if there is a target within normal charge distance.

Undeclared charges also cannot happen if the charging BG could reach certain things, e.g. bad terrain. When deciding whether the charge could reach the terrain etc, you must consider the possibility that the target evades and the chargers roll +2 MU on their VMD. It does not allow you to add +2MU to your normal distance when deciding if an enemy BG is in charge range before declaring a charge, nor does it make an undeclared charge possible if there is NO target within normal charge range.

THis rule confuses a lot of people and would benefit from clarification in v2.0
Lawrence Greaves
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”