turning battlelines and movemeant

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
sparabara88
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:00 pm

turning battlelines and movemeant

Post by sparabara88 »

in a game we played recently a battle line of two irreguler kn with a gen 6 inches away fom nearest enemy turned and then both moved away in a second move, both units passed the test to make the turn
i think this was wrong, as i read it a battleline can only do a simple advance which means it cannot include anything more than a wheel, so you would be able to turn and move one bg that had the gen with it but not both
am i correct?
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

Correct, a battle line can only make advances and a turn is most definitely not an advance.

Even if this maneuver was done by two BGs they would not end up as a single group because of the way the shape of the formation would change when it turned 90.
dave_r
General - King Tiger
General - King Tiger
Posts: 3857
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:58 pm

Post by dave_r »

Yes. Battlelines can only do a simple advance including a wheel.

Battlelines also have to remain in contact for the entire move, which they clearly aren't if they are turning 90 degrees and such like.
Evaluator of Supremacy
gozerius
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1117
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:32 am

Post by gozerius »

And, of course, a general must be a part of the battleline for the entire maneuver phase.
Thracians
Classical Indians
Medieval
-Germans (many flavors), Danes, Low Countries
Burgundians
In progress - Later Hungarians, Grand Moravians
Andy1972
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 338
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:46 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Contact:

Post by Andy1972 »

This could legally done only by... (not as a battle group) Each unit was over 6"away from the enemy, had an officer and each made their CT roll to turn. So unit a rolls CT to turn then(if they made it), make their 4" move as a second move.. Then you goto the next unit and do the same. DO NOT roll for each then move.. The moves are done one unit at a time. :)
Po-tae-toes! Mash 'em up and put 'em in a stew!
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

I think you meant not as a battle line, and if you are undrilled battle troops you can not turn and move, so its still restricted to the smarty pants drilled show offs only for foot troops at least.
sparabara88
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2009 2:00 pm

Post by sparabara88 »

deadtorius wrote:I think you meant not as a battle line, and if you are undrilled battle troops you can not turn and move, so its still restricted to the smarty pants drilled show offs only for foot troops at least.
it was two units of irreguler kn, 6in away from our units, he diced for both turned 180 and did a second move away in a battleline.
one unit with the genrel could make a second move but the other unit could not
i had never seen this done before and it felt wrong but on the day could not find it in the rules, it was only when we got home that i found it, a battleline can only do a simple advance
in the end it made no difference we still got the win
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

Good for you, that showed his fancy cheating knights that legal rules players will win in the end :D
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”