Fighting in Two Directions

Moderators: terrys, Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
shadowdragon
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2048
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:29 pm
Location: Manotick, Ontario, Canada

Fighting in Two Directions

Post by shadowdragon »

There are a number of conditions and exceptions with regards to flank attacks and when bases are turned. So I'd like confirmation / clarification of the following:

A non-terico/non-keil unit, say a pike & shot BG, is in two ranks and already fighting an enemy to the front. A flank file of the pike & shot BG, which has its front rank base in contact with an enemy base, is contacted on the flank by another BG in a charge that is a legal flank attack.

The pike & shot unit drops in cohesion.
The two flank file bases do not turn 90 degrees, but the 2nd rank base is assumed to be fighting to the flank.
The pike & shot unit is NOT considered to be fighting in two directions since no bases are turned at 90/180 degrees to the rest of the BG.

Is that correct?
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28274
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Fighting in Two Directions

Post by rbodleyscott »

shadowdragon wrote:The two flank file bases do not turn 90 degrees, but the 2nd rank base is assumed to be fighting to the flank.
The pike & shot unit is NOT considered to be fighting in two directions since no bases are turned at 90/180 degrees to the rest of the BG.

Is that correct?
No, because of the second special cases bullet:

"o If none of the contacted bases are eligible to turn, one of them is nevertheless turned if the contact counted as a flank or rear charge, to indicate that this was so."
shadowdragon
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2048
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:29 pm
Location: Manotick, Ontario, Canada

Re: Fighting in Two Directions

Post by shadowdragon »

rbodleyscott wrote:
shadowdragon wrote:The two flank file bases do not turn 90 degrees, but the 2nd rank base is assumed to be fighting to the flank.
The pike & shot unit is NOT considered to be fighting in two directions since no bases are turned at 90/180 degrees to the rest of the BG.

Is that correct?
No, because of the second special cases bullet:

"o If none of the contacted bases are eligible to turn, one of them is nevertheless turned if the contact counted as a flank or rear charge, to indicate that this was so."
Thanks. If you had said it was correct, then I would have asked why the 2nd bullet didn't apply. This ensures that at least one base is always turned to meet a legal flank attack.

The latter example on pages 103-104 are because the BG's started in side edge-to-side edge contact. So it's not a legal flank charge situation and the BG has the option of turning or not as described.

Nearly at the end of reading through the rules. Should be fun - not the least of which will be me trying to remember that, "oh this is different than in FoG:AM". :lol:

I look forward to FoG:N!
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28274
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Fighting in Two Directions

Post by rbodleyscott »

shadowdragon wrote:Thanks. If you had said it was correct, then I would have asked why the 2nd bullet didn't apply. This ensures that at least one base is always turned to meet a legal flank attack.
That is entrapment.
shadowdragon
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2048
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 7:29 pm
Location: Manotick, Ontario, Canada

Re: Fighting in Two Directions

Post by shadowdragon »

rbodleyscott wrote:
shadowdragon wrote:Thanks. If you had said it was correct, then I would have asked why the 2nd bullet didn't apply. This ensures that at least one base is always turned to meet a legal flank attack.
That is entrapment.
No, it was not a test. :) I just wanted to keep my original question as simple and as clear as possible. I wasn't completely clear on "eligibility to turn" as it applied to the 2nd bullet and didn't know if I had one or two questions. As it turns out, it was only one as you answered my second question in response to my first.

If you genuinely felt entrapped, then I will promise to buy all supplements! Oh heck, I will anyway.

So, guilty as charged with a fine of 1 pound for damages incurred. There was no intent to offend.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”