Feeding Bases into Melee

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
wilf12358
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:57 am

Feeding Bases into Melee

Post by wilf12358 »

Hi Chaps,

Question arose last night when dusting off Fog for a run through - (600pt Syracusan Greeks vs. Rep. Roman.)

When is a 'melee' not a 'melee' when 'feeding bases into an existing melee', as per p72-72 of the rules?

The active Roman player impacted a Cav BG (1 row x 4 files) into my Greek Cav BG (2 rows x 3 files) with only one file of four hitting.

(Actually a missed impact evade pursuit after my BG of slingers, but that's a different story).

Impact resolved, nothing conclusive.

Next phase - Manoeuvre - the active Roman player now wants to feed a base to improve his melee dice, similar to the cavalry feed in the 'melee 2' daigram on the bottom of p73.

I suggested he couldn't do this yet as we had not yet reached the first melee phase of that close combat encounter.

It therefore wasn't yet an 'existing melee'?

I conceded the point on reading the 'involved in close combat' reference at the begining of the text. He fed his base in before being well and truley battered!

Just wondered which interpretation was correct?


Cheers,
Wilf
rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 28294
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Post by rbodleyscott »

From the FAQ at http://www.fieldofglory.com/file/FAQ_ver5.01.pdf

"5. FEEDING MORE BASES INTO AN EXISTING MELEE

Can more bases be fed into a melee in the manoeuvre phase immediately following the initial impact combat?

Yes. The melee is deemed to exist immediately after resolution of the impact combat."
wilf12358
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:57 am

Post by wilf12358 »

Richard,
Thanks for the clarification.
I'll just have to temper my weaseling ways!
Cheers,
Wilf
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”