Contacting knights flank by LH

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
Hermano
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:27 pm

Contacting knights flank by LH

Post by Hermano »

Hello,
in my last game happened like this:
my opponent charged with his BG of LH against a BG of my LH. I evaded. He made his move as well, but doing this he would contact on the flank a BG of mine of knights. He didnt want to contact my knights so he wanted to stop within 1inch to them. I told him he had to contact them, he couldnt choose to stop because a BG may stop only if would contact another BG which couldnt normally charge. As LH while charging on the flank they never test as should do while charging in front to unbroken non-skirmisher, i thought that he hadnt to stop but he had to impact the flank of my knights.

Am i right or wrong?
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

Check page 60, skirmishers stop 1 MU away from any target that is revealed by an evade if the target would normally require a CMT to charge. In this case they won't hit your knights even if they wanted to sine they had no reason to roll a CMT prior to the charge. Score one for your buddy
zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Post by zoltan »

deadtorius wrote:Check page 60, skirmishers stop 1 MU away from any target that is revealed by an evade if the target would normally require a CMT to charge. In this case they won't hit your knights even if they wanted to sine they had no reason to roll a CMT prior to the charge. Score one for your buddy
I don't think you've answered Hermano's point correctly :oops:

From page 60:
- LH can not charge into a target revealed by evaders if the LH would normally require a CMT to charge that target; instead they must stop 1 MU short (bullet 3).

- LH do NOT require a CMT to charge the flank of knights (bullet 2).

- Ipso facto the LH must charge the flank of the Knights revealed by evaders.
david53
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2859
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 9:01 pm
Location: Manchester

Post by david53 »

zoltan wrote:
deadtorius wrote:Check page 60, skirmishers stop 1 MU away from any target that is revealed by an evade if the target would normally require a CMT to charge. In this case they won't hit your knights even if they wanted to sine they had no reason to roll a CMT prior to the charge. Score one for your buddy
I don't think you've answered Hermano's point correctly :oops:

From page 60:
- LH can not charge into a target revealed by evaders if the LH would normally require a CMT to charge that target; instead they must stop 1 MU short (bullet 3).

- LH do NOT require a CMT to charge the flank of knights (bullet 2).

- Ipso facto the LH must charge the flank of the Knights revealed by evaders.
Correct LH can charge anyone in the flank or rear without a CMT .
philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8835
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Post by philqw78 »

The LH, not needing a test, would hit the flank of the Knights.
phil
putting the arg into argumentative, except for the lists I check where there is no argument!
deadtorius
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Field Marshal - Me 410A
Posts: 5286
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius »

Guess I read that one wrong thought it said you had to roll to hit a non-skirmish target, must have been too late at night or just overly addled brain.
grahambriggs
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3070
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Post by grahambriggs »

You are right Hermano. His LH are in so much trouble! If you are lucky you can break them in this move and pursue. The it is your move and the Knights may have good targets!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”