Confirmation request

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
caliban66
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Confirmation request

Post by caliban66 »

Hi there! I played a game with some newbies and a raised a situation that I had surprisingly never seen before, and that I tried to solve using the manual. Please confirm if I did it correctly.

BB .- Enemy LF 9 MU far.
BB
CC
CC .- Enemy LF 7 MU far.


AA My LH.
Well, I declare a charge with A unit on C unit. It flees, and, since with VMR I could advance up to 9 MU, I could charge B, so B becomes a target, as it reads on "Charge declaration" paragraph, pg 52 of spanish rulebook.
So, B must decide if stays or flees. Stays, so now I make my charge movement. But now I doubt. On page 68, describing flee movement, I read: "Chargers now complete their movement, adjusting it with a VMR IF ALL ITS targets have evaded. SO, since B has not evaded, I must not make a VMR, so my LH ends its movement 2 MU in front of B.

Is it correct?
What surprise me is that, applying my reasoning, if B had been a FRAG unit, it would had to test not break, but, if passed, my unit would not have been able to reach it, so I think it's a kind of paradox
hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy »

B only becomes a target if A rolls a maximum VMD.

If C was say 3 MU from A and B 6.5 MU away then if C evades then because A would hit B with a normal move B then has to decide if it will evade. Then as all of As targets have evaded A has to make a VMD roll which may end up being a 1 or 2 and meaning that it would not have reached B anyway.

A BG that is in normal charge range of a charging BG in the path of the charge is a target. If friends are in the way then such a BG only becomes a target if the friends evade.

If a BG is more than the normal charge distance from the charger then there all the charge targets have evaded so a VMD is rolled which may bring new BGs in as targets and they then react accordingly
caliban66
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:05 pm

Post by caliban66 »

Ok, thanks, Hammy. Perfectly clear now.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”