Hi all!
I've just recently obtained my rules for FoG and will be gaming this weekend with SMaul in my first FoG game.
On my second read through the rules I have a question on Ambush setup...
The way I read the dummy ambush marker section, I see the possibility of setting out ONLY DUMMIES! Is this correct or does a player have to setup a real ambush in order to use dummies?
Thank you!
Noob question on Ambush setup
Moderators: hammy, philqw78, terrys, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators
-
- Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
- Posts: 231
- Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:44 pm
-
- Major-General - Tiger I
- Posts: 2379
- Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 11:21 am
- Location: Derbyshire, UK
But is is quite likely that your opponent will be aware after deployment that they are all dummies. For example, if you have 13 BGs, you normally deploy in groups of 4-3-3-3. If one of your ambushes were real, it would be 4-3-3-2. If you deploy 4-3-3-3 your opponent will know that your ambushes are all dummies.
kevinj wrote:But is is quite likely that your opponent will be aware after deployment that they are all dummies. For example, if you have 13 BGs, you normally deploy in groups of 4-3-3-3. If one of your ambushes were real, it would be 4-3-3-2. If you deploy 4-3-3-3 your opponent will know that your ambushes are all dummies.
As Kevin states it is quite easy for people to work out if they are real if placing 3 down it would be good just to do one that makes it all harder have a flank march as well and it becomes harder still.
-
- Corporal - Strongpoint
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
- Location: Fargo, ND
- Contact:
actually you dont actually lose units in your order of March so you still have the same number of Battle groups even if they are ambushing, but as per the rules I think if you were (foolish enough) to place an ambushing BG early in your order of march then you skip them and still have to place the proper amount seen on the table.
I dont have my book at work but pretty sure you do.
so 4-3-3-3 would always be that, not one less if one was ambushing, but strategically I dont know why you would leave your ambushers as last since you have to on board the proper amount of the order of March.
I dont have my book at work but pretty sure you do.
so 4-3-3-3 would always be that, not one less if one was ambushing, but strategically I dont know why you would leave your ambushers as last since you have to on board the proper amount of the order of March.
smaul1 wrote:actually you dont actually lose units in your order of March so you still have the same number of Battle groups even if they are ambushing, but as per the rules I think if you were (foolish enough) to place an ambushing BG early in your order of march then you skip them and still have to place the proper amount seen on the table.
I dont have my book at work but pretty sure you do.
so 4-3-3-3 would always be that, not one less if one was ambushing, but strategically I dont know why you would leave your ambushers as last since you have to on board the proper amount of the order of March.
If you started with 4.3.3.3 as the units in your army and you want an ambush It would be 4.3.3.2, but theres a bit more if the unit in ambush came from the first group you would replace that with one from the second group and so on until you reached the last and placed two BGs down.
-
- Corporal - Strongpoint
- Posts: 71
- Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:06 pm
- Location: Fargo, ND
- Contact:
right, but even though you "replace" it you still have the same number of battlegroups but putting an ambushing unit up front you place units faster, I believe the rules state you could even end up not placing units in your 4th section of order of march.
I think we agree, I just dont see it as losing a BG in the order of march as you do I guess.
I think we agree, I just dont see it as losing a BG in the order of march as you do I guess.
smaul1 wrote:right, but even though you "replace" it you still have the same number of battlegroups but putting an ambushing unit up front you place units faster, I believe the rules state you could even end up not placing units in your 4th section of order of march.
I think we agree, I just dont see it as losing a BG in the order of march as you do I guess.
Thats what I put everything moves up and the last group as you say could be nothing.
Never said it was lost just that you don't put it down?
You have the same number of BG's but you don't put the BGs in ambush on the table until its spotted by the enemy or you place it on the table yourself.